...and If you were almost 50 years old and need to return to IT?

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

I am 49 years old, graduated in electronics and business management, but I have been working with computers for a long time, from maintenance, support, networks and even assembly programming and also business management based on ERP systems.

The fact is that I moved to Portugal in 2016 and I also changed my career paths, but now I want to go back to IT and I am a little confused because I have a lot of diverse knowledge and almost no specific knowledge.

I would like to work with Outsystems and agile project management like SCRUM. I'm working on free online training and I'm thinking about doing the necessary certifications.

I would like to hear opinions considering my age and the paths I am thinking of taking.

I apologize if this way is not the most suitable for this.

Best regards,

Thank you.

(I sent you an inbox message!)

Hi Evandro,

speaking from slightly similar career change, I switched to developing with Outsystems last year, at age 50, allthough maybe the step for me was not that big, as I had always been a software developer.

In my opinion, as a senior, diverse knowledge is preferred over specific knowledge.

A lot of value lies in ability to understand business requirements, solve problems, be creative, work in a team, see all the details and interdependecies in complex systems, be patient and thourough, etcetera.

As an almost 50 year old, you probably know your own strengths and weaknesses in these type of things and should use that as a measure for how likely a career in IT will succeed.

The specifics, of course you also have to master those at some point, and I think Outsystems is a good choice, for 2 reasons :

There is a well developed training system

- massive amounts of free online courses

-ranging from beginner to advanced

- almost limitless ability to practice in a personal environment