Collecting Data from Multiple Child Fields in a Single Field in Their Parent

Collecting Data from Multiple Child Fields in a Single Field in Their Parent

Hi,

I am not a developer, and I am sort of fumbling my way through using this platform.  There's something that I want to do, which seems like it should be simple, but I haven't been able to figure out an approach.  In a one-to-many relationship, I want to collect data from one field in the children records (let's say its their first name), into a text field of the parent record.

So, I would want a field in the parent record that shows the parent has 3 children -- "Mike, Paul, Tom."  I know that this data would be "display only," and that you couldn't click through to the children, but it would be helpful to see this on one of the screens I am creating.  It occurs to me that this could be done in at least two ways. 1) By updating the field in the parent anytime one of the child records is changed, or 2) through some sort of a query at the Preparation stage of showing the web screen.  I'm also guessing it needs some kind of a "For Each" loop.  However, I've tried both approaches with no luck.   I can't seem to be able to access the data in the child table in a way that lets me copy it into the parent field.  I'm sure I am missing some of the steps here since I really don't understand what is going on behind the scenes. I don't even know which approach is better -- I'm assuming it's cleaner to create the data through a procedure "on the fly," since it's guaranteed to be up to date, but I'm not sure if that willl make the screen take too long to load.

Any help or direction would be much appreciated! Thanks!
Hello Joey