2
 Followers
21
 Likes

Warn when connecting to a PRODUCTION environment

Service Studio
On our radar
Service Studio should never allow a user to connect to a PRODUCTION environment (as marked in Lifetime) without warnings. When opening Service Studio, it should never automatically re-connect to a PRODUCTION environment either.

We've had too many issues where someone does a hotpatch to PROD, and then the next time they open Service Studio they are workin gin PROD but think they are in TEST.

J.Ja
Created on 2 Sep 2014
Comments (10)
Good idea! 

Occured to me a couple of times too.
And a BIG warning before publish
Merged this idea with 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger)
Good day Outsystems,

Just an idea our team had with regards to publishing from environments.

We had an issue this morning where we checked something on our production server code base from Service Studio, and accidentally clicked "1-Click Publish", which caused an error on our production server.

Can you maybe add an option or setting to the ServiceCenter, something like "Prevent/Warn user when publishing from Service Studio" that one can turn and and off that will pop up a warning when the user tries to publish to an environment with this value set to "on"? 

We can set it on our production environment to avoid users accidentally publishing from Service Studio, or to at least warn the user that it could cause issues because of the direct publish?

Thank you,


Merged from 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (idea created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger), on 2018-02-26 16:17:38 by Vasco Pessanha
Similar to/should be merged with:
http://www.outsystems.com/ideas/1709/warn-when-connecting-to-a-production-environment

J.Ja


Merged from 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (idea created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger), on 2018-02-26 16:17:38 by Vasco Pessanha

The idea is always you are connected in a production environment from Service Studio and try publish anything, Service Studio show a confirmation to continue. Maybe the idea could be a simple changing of the "1 - Click Publish" button to be more evident you are connected in production envrionment.

It is to avoid users connected in production environment by mistake publishing things in this environment.

Service Studio stores the last host you had connected and sometime the user could connect in production by mistake thinking it be the development environment.



Merged from 'Confirmation before publish in production from Service Studio' (idea created on 2017-03-01 15:12:57 by Tiago Bojikian da Costa Vital), on 2018-02-26 16:17:15 by Vasco Pessanha

Merged from 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (idea created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger), on 2018-02-26 16:17:38 by Vasco Pessanha

Well, tbh, normal users should not be allowed to publish directly on production!




Merged from 'Confirmation before publish in production from Service Studio' (idea created on 2017-03-01 15:12:57 by Tiago Bojikian da Costa Vital), on 2018-02-26 16:17:15 by Vasco Pessanha

Merged from 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (idea created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger), on 2018-02-26 16:17:38 by Vasco Pessanha

Yes

I agree, but the platform allows it. In some emergency or just to publish a simple change somebody prefer do it using Studio instead of publish the eSpace from Service Center or Lifetime. Sometime you can't publish all the eSpace, need only solve a problem. 



Merged from 'Confirmation before publish in production from Service Studio' (idea created on 2017-03-01 15:12:57 by Tiago Bojikian da Costa Vital), on 2018-02-26 16:17:15 by Vasco Pessanha

Merged from 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (idea created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger), on 2018-02-26 16:17:38 by Vasco Pessanha

Similar in spirit to:

http://www.outsystems.com/ideas/123/different-service-center-colors-for-different-environments

Virtually identical to:

http://www.outsystems.com/ideas/2223/prevent-or-warn-user-if-1-click-publish-initiated-from-production-environment

and:

http://www.outsystems.com/ideas/1709/warn-when-connecting-to-a-production-environment

And yes, J. is right about the permissions... but as the "one person with permission to publish directly to PROD" I've messed this up myself MORE THAN ONCE!

The problem is that Studio re-connects to the last environment you connected to, so after a hot patch to PROD, the next time you open Studio it connets to PROD, you forget that you are in PROD and not DEV, and start working... oops...

J.Ja



Merged from 'Confirmation before publish in production from Service Studio' (idea created on 2017-03-01 15:12:57 by Tiago Bojikian da Costa Vital), on 2018-02-26 16:17:15 by Vasco Pessanha

Merged from 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (idea created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger), on 2018-02-26 16:17:38 by Vasco Pessanha

In earlier version this wasn't possible if the 'production mode' was set in service center, so you first had to set the server mode to 'development' before able to publish to the server. Service Studio also didn't allowed the publish when the server was on 'production mode'.

somewhere this option was removed....



Merged from 'Confirmation before publish in production from Service Studio' (idea created on 2017-03-01 15:12:57 by Tiago Bojikian da Costa Vital), on 2018-02-26 16:17:15 by Vasco Pessanha

Merged from 'Prevent or warn user if 1-Click publish initiated from Production Environment' (idea created on 2015-11-04 07:49:28 by Eduard Kruger), on 2018-02-26 16:17:38 by Vasco Pessanha
views
140
Followers
2