6
 Followers
49
 Likes

"Check All" in the merge window

Collaboration
On our radar


When there are many differences and I should keep most of the original version, I have a very time-consuming job of ticking most checkboxes on the left side of the merge window (see screenshot below).


Please add a "Check All" option to both sides.



Created on 16 Feb 2017
Comments (20)

Awesome Idea!

Not to mention an "Uncheck all". Often I want to merge only one little thing, and I have to be very careful not to leave a checkmark somewhere.

Just like the new (P10) "Refresh All" for references...

Check/uncheck should be the same option, but yes would be a good one

Usage: I have this huge application and I just need to merge 2 static entities so I can publish, but I have to check 100+ entities to keep the old code.  They my computer crashes in between and I have to recheck again to merge.  Very time consuming.  A select all would help immensely.

Merged this idea with 'Compare and Merge - Buttons to Check All or Uncheck All' (created on 28 May 2018 15:10:06 by Fabio Barboza)

Hello,


Sometimes we have a need to go back to a version totaly of the system.


When we compare the versions we have to mark each box individually.


My suggestion is to create 2 buttons one to check all and uncheck all.



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Compare and Merge - Buttons to Check All or Uncheck All' (created on 28 May 2018 by Fabio Barboza)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 14:58:15 by Tércio Soares

Changed the category to Collaboration




This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Compare and Merge - Buttons to Check All or Uncheck All' (created on 28 May 2018 by Fabio Barboza)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 14:58:15 by Tércio Soares

Hi!

In such case, would it be possible to use "Module management"-button(gear icon) and then go to previous version line and press "publish"-button?



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Compare and Merge - Buttons to Check All or Uncheck All' (created on 28 May 2018 by Fabio Barboza)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 14:58:15 by Tércio Soares

Hi @Esa Saarinen.

 I understand, but this will be a sort of selection in Service Studio.

You do not need to access the Service Center.



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Compare and Merge - Buttons to Check All or Uncheck All' (created on 28 May 2018 by Fabio Barboza)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 14:58:15 by Tércio Soares
Merged this idea with '[ServiceStudio] - Merge - Pick all elements' (created on 20 Sep 2017 11:38:32 by Daniel Martins)


Before Development Environment 10 (ServiceStudio) version 10, we would have an option to pick all

This print screen is still available at the Documentation:

https://www.outsystems.com/help/ServiceStudio/9.1/index.htm#t=Working_in_Teams%2FCompare_and_Merge.htm 

Now with version 10:


Is not possible to pick all the elements inside a webflow or inside a static entity merge, some times if there are many changes involved you would need pick each element individually (and it can be hundreds).


Please get this functionality back to service studio!




This comment was:
- originally posted on idea '[ServiceStudio] - Merge - Pick all elements' (created on 20 Sep 2017 by Daniel Martins)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 15:01:40 by Tércio Soares

Indeed. Iirc though, this has already been proposed as an Idea, though I might be wrong.



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea '[ServiceStudio] - Merge - Pick all elements' (created on 20 Sep 2017 by Daniel Martins)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 15:01:40 by Tércio Soares

Tiago Neves mentioned this before in the forums:

https://www.outsystems.com/forums/discussion/14950/merge-allows-top-level-selection-again/#Post55823

Top level selection is also missing.



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea '[ServiceStudio] - Merge - Pick all elements' (created on 20 Sep 2017 by Daniel Martins)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 15:01:40 by Tércio Soares

You're right - pick all the elements is really annoying



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea '[ServiceStudio] - Merge - Pick all elements' (created on 20 Sep 2017 by Daniel Martins)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 15:01:40 by Tércio Soares

Not only annoying, it can be errorneous, as it might be easy to miss some of the boxes



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea '[ServiceStudio] - Merge - Pick all elements' (created on 20 Sep 2017 by Daniel Martins)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 15:01:40 by Tércio Soares

On another forums discussion, Lúcio Ferrão made a comment that tbh, looking back, I don't quite get it:

"When doing 3 way merge, selecting all the children was not the correct default as it would lead to lost code" - seems like that was behind the decision of not having All/Children elements option.

https://www.outsystems.com/forums/discussion/14234/removal-of-the-find-feature-in-ss/#Post52937



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea '[ServiceStudio] - Merge - Pick all elements' (created on 20 Sep 2017 by Daniel Martins)
- merged to idea '"Check All" in the merge window' on 24 Sep 2018 15:01:40 by Tércio Soares

+1

Just been trying to merge some changes in a single action from an old version into the development version but had to give up. This is not only because of tedious individual selection, but I now find the platform "auto merges" bits it presumably thinks it understands (reminds me of Word!) and forces me to go and confirm every line. Half of these are the same, probably because someone else gave up and manually added things to both versions, which are then considered "different".

Why does this have to be so hard?!

Hi Neil.

Textual merge was improved in OutSystems 11 and it really saves a lot of time when publishing, as now it detects conflicting and non-conflicting differences. If there are conflicting changes, you'll have full control over what merged version to publish (Automatic Text Merge - OutSystems 11)

Also for a detailed explanation on conflicting differences identification and conflict resolution you can check the compare and merge example with conflicts documentation area.

Finally, if you experienced some error on differences identification, please submit that feedback through the "Submit feedback" button inside the merge window.

Keep bringing your feedback and hope you enjoy OutSystems 11 new features.

Thank you.

views
1290
Followers
6