2
 Followers
9
 Likes

Add in service studio a category for server connections - Pop up a confirmation message when deploy to Production environments.

Service Studio
Out of the scope

Some how... add in service studio a category  for servers connections.


Besides the host, username and password allow the user to categorize the connection as 'Production Environment Connection' or  'Quality Environment  Connection' or 'Development Environment  Connection' .


Add an option for the user (typically for Production environments connections) choose to pop up a confirm message to be shown every time that one e-space is published.


This would avoid e-spaces deployed by mistake in Quality/Production environments (when server connections are changed).


One example attached (image).

 wisdom.png
Created on 20 Apr 2011
Comments (8)
Your problem seems to be mistakingly publishing something in a production environment when you don't actually intend to. I don't believe a confirmation message would do the trick, since those are most often than not completely ignored.

A better solution might be not allowing Service Studio (mainly a developer tool) to publish espaces to a production server unless some special mode is engaged.
i have a litle trick for that...i don't use the same passwords in production server then in other servers, and that works just fine.

Now with Lifetime where users and pwd's are the same throuth out all environments, this could be even more useful.

This is an old topic, but I think worth to mention that with Team in lifetime you can now configure who are the developers that have the ability to publish to which environment. 

if the teams and developer role in lifetime is well configured this issue is sorted out.

Let me know if this fulfill your requirements

Changed the status to
Out of the scope


Hey Daniel,

Taking what Fernando said and adding that we already have a warning/confirmation message when a module is being published to production, we currently don't have plans to further work on this topic.

Thanks a lot for your idea!


In Service Studio it's possible to change connections easily and without notice (by mistake), press the 1CP and suddenly I might be deploying on PROD (and I may have the credentials to do that, its not a permissions problem is just to avoid to do that without any noticed).

To avoid these kind of situations, somehow I would like to have a confirmation message whenever I press the 1CP on specific environments.


Daniel,

That was already reported in this idea and implemented in the latest Service Studio versions.

Cheers!

Great news Vasco!

 This idea fulfills my requirements! Thanks!

views
400
Followers
2