Improve Merge

By Francisco Silva on 14 Sep 2011
Most of times, the merge tool should be automatic...

If one developer has change one screen and other developer a diferent one, why should i have to merge the two versions?

Anyone familiar with CVS, SVN, GIT, etc will agree with me!
Kilian Hekhuis21 Sep 2011
Well, for one, it would be very difficult to come up with a set of rules when automatic merge would cause no problems, and when it would. Also, in many cases you'd want to check anyway the changes made by the other developer.

Merge could be improved quite a bit, but automatic merging is always tricky.
Alexandre Costa27 Dec 2012
I find this idea very important, because working with several developers using OutSystems with manual merge is slow, boring and much of the merge can be done automatically as is done in tools like Git, VNC and others.
Philip Prescott13 May 2013
In many cases, the merge tool causes more issues than we would have should we just upload. I would love to see some more intelligence built into the merge tool.
Goncalo Borrega16 Oct 2014
With Platform 9, if there are no conflicting changes, the merge is done automatically, and (once you confirm) the publish proceeds. The platform automatically detects who has changed what based on the original (base) version. 



After several usability tests, we decided to allow you to make the final decision, by confirming that you do want to "Merge and Publish". Doing it all automatically was causing users to feel they were losing control and that the platform might not be doing what you really wanted. It also allows you to forcely overwrite what the other developer has done, if so required, or open the merge window (hit Compare) to have better control over exactly what is merged. When that happens, the merge options are automatically preselected, so that you don't have to think about it that much.


Francisco Silva17 Oct 2014
So nice!! Great :)