How to refresh the screen automatically in mobile application

How to refresh the screen automatically in mobile application

Hi Team,

I am new to Outsystems. I am developing a mobile application with a chat functionality embedded in it. I want to refresh the chat screen that i definied automatically for every x seconds. Can you please let me know how can i refresh a mobile screen automatically.

Thanks,

-Dileep

Hi Venkata,

What do you want to refresh? Do you display data, and you want to refresh the query? Or do you want to call a REST service every X seconds? Or what?

Anyway, the way to do it is via JavaScript: call setInterval with a function body calling a Screen Action. Don't forget to clearInterval() in the OnDestroy.

Kilian Hekhuis wrote:

Hi Venkata,

What do you want to refresh? Do you display data, and you want to refresh the query? Or do you want to call a REST service every X seconds? Or what?

Anyway, the way to do it is via JavaScript: call setInterval with a function body calling a Screen Action. Don't forget to clearInterval() in the OnDestroy.

Hi Kilian,

Thanks for response. As i mentioned i had embedded a chat functionality using In-App Chat mobile forge component and i want to make this realtime. Currently every time i send a message in my chat screen, i had to go back and come back to see the updated chat responses.

So i thought if there is a way to achieve this by refreshing this chat screen automatically without i clicking something.

I tried creating a button and set its display property to none and a click event to call back the screen. Now i want to get this click event triggered automatically.

Can you help me setting up this feature.

Hi Venkata,

I explained above: use a setInterval() in the OnReady, and a clearInterval() in the OnDestroy. Like in this topic (even though the poster didn't quite get it right yet).

Kilian Hekhuis wrote:

Hi Venkata,