Difference between Screen action,Server action and Client action.

Hello All,

I am new to Outsystems and trying to learn Outsystems. Can you please help me in understanding the different types of actions(server, client and screen action) and when and where they are used?

Please help me with this

Solution

Hi Ankita,

A Screen Action is an Action that's local to a Screen. It can only be called by Screen Elements (in Web) like Buttons or Links, or by a Notify of a Web Block. In Mobile, Screen Actions can also call each other. Screen Actions have local scope to the Screen (outside the Screen they are not visible), and have access to all Screen Input Parameters, Screen Local Variables and Widgets. Screen Actions are run either on the server (Web) or on the device (Mobile). Use Screen Actions for simple logic that's Screen-specific.

Server Actions are Actions that are always executed on the server, both in Web and Mobile. Since Web Apps run on the server in their entirety, this is the only available type of Action for a Web App. When a Mobile App calls a Server Action, it needs to be online (since it must reach the server to execute the Action). Use Server Actions in Web Apps whenever you need to abstract some business logic or core logic or domain specific logic. Use Server Actions in Mobile Apps only if you cannot avoid it (e.g. when syncing data), as it will incur a performance penalty (for calling the server and waiting for it to respond back).

Client Actions are the Mobile equivalent to Server Actions. The run on the device, not on a server. Client Actions are therefore only available for Mobile Apps. Their use, like Server Actions, is to abstract logic.