Views
Comments
Python-based discord bot reply errors (infinite loop)
Application Type
Traditional Web

I've been learning java for a few months and is quite new to python. I'm currently building a simple deep learning AI bot for discord that takes a message from the user, then replies with a message from a pre-established database. I've managed to complete the AI with no issues but I'm currently encountering some problems with setting up the code for discord.

Below is my final code block responsible for receiving the message from discord and replying the user in discord.

Current Error: My code wouldn't stop from executing after sending its first message in the discord chat, causing the bot to repeatedly send messages nonstop. This is most likely caused by the while loop within the function.

My attempted solution: New to python, I'm not sure how I create a boolean type class variable the way you would do it in java. I attempted to use the boolean variable new_message as the conditional statement for the while loop. This variable is set to false once a reply by the bot is sent to ensure that the program does not scan the bot's own reply and cause an infinite loop. This solution didn't seem to work because I couldn't seem to figure out a way to create the new_message variable outside of the function.

Note: I can't simply remove the while loop because I need the program to terminate once the user enters the input "quit".

@client.event
async def on_message(message):
     bot_testing = client.get_channel(0000000000)
     user_input = message.content
     new_message = True

while new_message:
    if user_input.lower() == "quit": # type quit to stop the program
        print("Program Terminated")
        break

results = model.predict([bag_of_words(user_input, words)])[0]
    results_index = numpy.argmax(results) # returns the greatest value's index
    tag = labels[results_index]

print(results)
    print(tag)