8
 Followers
40
 Likes

Manage Saved Environments - Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password

Service Studio
Implemented
on 28 Dec 2020
Development Environment Release 96

Hi 

From my Service Studio, I can connect to different environments but once I connect to that environment, that server details stays there permanently. I would like to have an option to clear that drop down of environment names.



Also once I remember password, it is saved permanently, I would like to have an option, to clear the password so that it won't show unless I want it.

Thanks and Regards,

Suraj Borade

Created on 3 Jan 2018
Comments (18)

Also, that dreadful "YOUR_PERSONAL.outsystemscloud.com" should go away :). That said, though I'd like such an option, you can always edit the C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\OutSystems\ServiceStudio 10.0\Settings.xml config file (look for <MruServers>).

Merged this idea with ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 11:59:47 by Swatantra Kumar)

After working as lead OutSystems consultant on many engagements, my Service Studio got filled with dozens of environments (environment Hostname, Username and Password).

I feel the need to delete a few of the environments from Service Studio "Switch Environment" window. Having a feature of remove/delete/forget environment will help many.



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

Having this type of remove icon should be sufficient without creating a new interface.

The clicking of delete should confirm "Are you sure, you want to remove the credentials/environment ENVIRONMENT_NAME" and proceed with an action.



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

Changed the category to Service Studio




This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

Yes, please! +1



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

Something simple but that would make it a lot easier



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

We need this. Q4 2019 to soon?



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

Agree +1



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

I would like to see this functionality! Agree +1



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:23 by Vasco Pessanha

Good Idea +1



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:24 by Vasco Pessanha
Merged this idea with 'Add Logout / Forget to Service Studio' (created on 06 Oct 2019 17:13:43 by Craig St.Jean)

This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:24 by Vasco Pessanha

Currently. when you log into Service Studio, your server and credentials are added to a Settings.xml.  You can remove them by manually modifying the file.

There have been multiple times where I have either signed in on a coworkers computer, or on a shared computer (e.g. at NextStep).  Instead of needing to modify Settings.xml to clear my account, I would really appreciate a Logout or Forget Me option in Service Studio.

I see 2 ways to accomplish this:

  • When logged in, from a menu on Environment that says Logout
  • From the login screen of SS, add a Forget Me link that would clear the currently selected account


This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Add Logout / Forget to Service Studio' (created on 06 Oct 2019 by Craig St.Jean)
- merged to idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' on 25 Nov 2019 09:11:16 by Vasco Pessanha


This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:24 by Vasco Pessanha

Yeah, the way it SHOULD work is the item in settings should be a token that, when combined with a key unique to that SS install, authorizes you, so this way you can go into SC or Lifetime and get a list of authorized SS installs and kill their token.

J.Ja



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Add Logout / Forget to Service Studio' (created on 06 Oct 2019 by Craig St.Jean)
- merged to idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' on 25 Nov 2019 09:11:16 by Vasco Pessanha


This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:24 by Vasco Pessanha

That would be even better!  Similar to how you can manage tokens in Dropbox



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Add Logout / Forget to Service Studio' (created on 06 Oct 2019 by Craig St.Jean)
- merged to idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' on 25 Nov 2019 09:11:16 by Vasco Pessanha


This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:24 by Vasco Pessanha

This would help me a lot too, as I use different environments for demos, often only over a period of time.



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Add Logout / Forget to Service Studio' (created on 06 Oct 2019 by Craig St.Jean)
- merged to idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' on 25 Nov 2019 09:11:16 by Vasco Pessanha


This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:24 by Vasco Pessanha

Great idea



This comment was:
- originally posted on idea 'Add Logout / Forget to Service Studio' (created on 06 Oct 2019 by Craig St.Jean)
- merged to idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' on 25 Nov 2019 09:11:16 by Vasco Pessanha


This comment was:
- originally posted on idea ' Service Studio - Remove saved environment' (created on 28 Jul 2019 by Swatantra Kumar)
- merged to idea 'Option to clear environment details from drop down and option to clear password' on 25 Nov 2019 09:16:24 by Vasco Pessanha
Changed the status to
Implemented
on 28 Dec 2020


Hello Suraj!

I am happy to tell you that your idea has been implemented. From now on, you can manage your saved environments by renaming them or by simply removing them from your list. 

Download here the latest version of Service Studio and start taking the most out of this brand new feature today. We hope you like it!

Thank you so much, happy new year and keep safe!

Ângela

views
1270
Followers
8