When to Multi Tenant?

When to Multi Tenant?

Hi OS community,

I am new to the concept of multi tenant applications, but I have been reading some OS documentation about it and find it an interesting concept to apply.

I am having some difficulty determining wheter an application should have multi tenancy or not. I would like to debate on the following topics/questions:

1- Your experience with this type of application and why did you choose Multi Tenancy for it?

2- From what I have been reading, achieving multi tenancy for an app is not an easy&fast task. How hard is it to setup and maintain the multi tenancy?

3- [Multi Tenancy] vs [Roles with custom data isolation], comparing implementation process, time, costs, advantages and disadvantages.

Best Regards,
Miguel Vieira
Miguel -

The Mt in Agile Platform is EXTREMELY low effort, and very robust. The biggest issue I had with it (couldn't debug across multi tenant espaces) has been fixed, so I really do not have any reason to not recommend it. In the past (pre-7) I was not so upbeat, and made a full framework of my own to do the same thing. That is no longer needed, thankfully.

It takes a few clicks to use it. It would take you less time to try it out in Agile Platform than to read the documentation, beleive it or not.

J.Ja
Miguel

The multi tenant feature allows a single instance of your application to serves multiple customers.

You would want to use this feature if you need to share common application solutions, multi tenant will isolate each customer with their own instance of your application solution.

perhaps even use the multi-tenancy for offices (in different countries) of your company.
Hi,

The only situation where I don't recommend multitenant is when the same user needs to be able to access multiple tenants. (apart from the administration backoffice scenarion explained in the technote, where the administrator has access to all tenants information)