Can it be done with OutSystems?

Can it be done with OutSystems?

Hi Guys,

If you’ve been working with the OutSystems Platform for as long as I do I’m positive you have heard the famous quote “Can this be done in OutSystems?”.

As an OutSystems passionate dev I can say that my answer in 99% of the situations is yes (and it was long before I joined the company) but sometimes is a bit harder than to just use the out-of-the-box features the platform gives you.

So last year i got a request to implement a screen with the OutSystems platform that implemented the exact same look and feel as an existent VB6/Win32 application. It was a nice challenge but at the end of the day we had it done. This is a screenshoot of that screen (without any customer reference for privacy reasons).

So this is the time to publicly thank Cristiana for the help in doing this and share with the community a simple CSS file and a few images so in the future someone can save himself/herself a couple of hours.

And guys, when in doubt it will probably be possible with the OutSystems Platform.

This is what I'd call "ensuring user adoption by changing everything but the interface"! 
Talk about resistance to change... :)

My company has converted several major systems with a windows look and feel, but its not always about resistance to change as much as $$$$$'s!

Re-training 2000+ call centre agents costs a lot more than having the same look and feel!  :-)
Keith, you make a great point. I've been there (rolling out new systems to tuousands of people) but somehow I had forgotten how terrible that can be... thanks for reminding me! :)

However I would assume that, if you're rolling out a new system that replaces an existing one, you'll take the opportunity to take care of problems with the original system, improving usability, adding new functionality... so there will be so much new and different stuff that you'll always have to re-train people.