Connect mobile app and web app

Connect mobile app and web app

Hello! I'm quite new to outsystems, but I love it so far.

I'm working on both a web app and mobile app (same product) using SilkUI. I want the user to be able to send a request from the mobile app to the administrator who uses the web app. 

To make things clear: I'm working on a product that lets employees request vacation from the mobile app (like this https://silkui.outsystems.com/EmployeeAppTemplate.aspx). I want the manager to accept or decline the request from the web app.

1. Is this possible? 
  2. If yes, can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance! 

Hello Karl,

Yes, it is possible. You can use Server Actions, Entities, etc, from Web Applications (but no web blocks or web pages, for example).

The idea, I think, would be to send information back to server, probably saving data to an entity, directly or through an action, that will be used to alert the manager about the event (new vacations to accept/refuse).

From here, you can work in a number of ways, like just presenting data to the Manager in a Dashboard, sending an e-mail from the server action used to save info to database, trigger a process on a new record inserted in table (if you are using BPT), etc.

If you don't want to "couple" your 2 applications directly, you can expose a web server in the Web Application and consume it in the Mobile (or the other way), and exchange the information between the applications through this way.

So, to resume, as you have access to modules for web applications, and can reference Actions, Entities, Structures, etc, the way to implement this "talk" is a matter of using something that fit best your requirements and constraints.

Cheers,
Eduardo Jauch

Hi Eduardo,