Fire events in the destiny input field of a Calendar Widget

Fire events in the destiny input field of a Calendar Widget

Hi guys,

I have an input field that receives a date from a calendar widget.

I need to fire the onchange event on the input field when it changes but after I change the date using the widget it don't fires the event. Not even when I click on another field.

Do you have a workaround for this?
Pedro Alcântara
Hi Pedro,

You might want to try to use the onblur javascript event that fires when the input loses the focus.

Tiago Simões
Thanks for your sugestion but I already had tried and it doesn't work also.

You see, the problem I think is because the input field is disable to force the user to use the calendar widget and prevent invalid dates.

I took a look at the javascript code in the calendar widget (but I'm not very good at it), and I noticed a parameter 'onClose'. I already tried to change the widget adding a new parameter but I failed completely.
Hi Pedro,

According to the documentation in you should use the parameter onUpdate:

parameter name: onUpdate
type: function
description: If you supply a function handler here, it will be called right after the target field is updated with a new date. You can use this to chain 2 calendars, for instance to setup a default date in the second just after a date was selected in the first.
default value: null

You could change the Web Block to add this parameter. I haven't tested but it should work like this:

1 - Open the the Calendar Widget oml
2 - Open the Calendar Web Block
3 - Add a new Text Parameter to the Web Block (name it OnUpdate). Set Is Mandatory to No and default value to "null" (actual string)
3 - Edit the expression that creates the javascript Calendar object (it reads <javascript> and includes a call to Calendar.setup)
4 - In this expression add the following line:

electric : " + ToLower(BooleanToText (not UpdateOnCloseOnly)) + ",
onUpdate : " + OnUpdate + ",