How to fill a database (with images and videos) from the backend?

How to fill a database (with images and videos) from the backend?

Hi guys,

I am new to Outsystems. What I want to build is as follows:

I want to create a mobile app that shows an overview of contacts with associated pictures of those persons. So I created an entity "Contacts" with attributes "Name" and "Picture".

Now what I want is to fill the database from the backend (or import it). But I can't see how to do this. I don't want to add all the content for the app from the frontend (so as a user).

So in general I want to know how to fill a database (with images and videos if possible) from the backend?

Hi Niels,

You have a few options here depending on how exactly you are planning on importing that data. Where will it be available to be imported? Files, webservices, another database?

Hi Niels,

"Now what I want is to fill the database from the backend (or import it). But I can't see how to do this. I don't want to add all the content for the app from the frontend (so as a user)."

I'm not sure I get this part...
Do you mean that you want to synchronize the mobile local storage with the backend database (server storage)?

If so, you should take a look here for offline synchronization: https://success.outsystems.com/Documentation/10/Developing_an_Application/Use_Data/Offline/Offline_Data_Synchronization_Patterns

Or if offline is not a problem and you just want to populate local database from server database than you can just add an aggregate to the server entity and an action to copy this data to local storage (and set any filters you want to set to chose only the data you want to add locally).

Or is your problem the upload of images in the backend?

I recommend the online training, as all of this requirements are discussed there:

For web and mobile patterns: https://www.outsystems.com/learn/paths/

If is something else, please, could you clarify?

Cheers,
Eduardo Jauch

Aurelio Santos wrote: