Does this allow SQL injection?

Does this allow SQL injection?

Hi Peter,

Yes it does. Look at this example https://stackoverflow.com/questions/15579898/mysql-injection-by-like-operator

Regards,

Marcelo

OS does not translate the name_search field into a bind parameter behind the scene?

Hi,

If you use an aggregate Outsystems takes care of that for you. But if you use an advance query you will get a warning stating that you should use encode sql

Regards, 

Marcelo

Solution

Hello Peter,

I'm not a security expert but allow me to share my thoughts on the matter:

If you are using an Aggregate or if you are using an advanced SQL query and your query parameter is not expanded inline your query should (as far as I know) be safe from SQL injection. Check out the "Use SQL Parameters for Protection" section of this w3school page on SQL injection to learn more about how SQL query parameters are handled and how they help preventing SQL injection.

If you are using an advanced SQL query with a query parameter that is expanded inline and if you assign a Variable to that parameter you will get a warning message just like Marcelo said.
You get this message because when your query parameter is expanded inline it will not be treated as a SQL parameter and it will be included in the SQL statement/query without first being evaluated. This means that you will be able to insert SQL clauses in your parameter and if you do not take certain precautions end-users may be able exploit it.

The warning message documentation page has some recommendations on how to prevent SQL injection attacks depending on the contents of the query parameter.

Just a final note on the EncodeSql() built-in function and when/how to use it: