Exposed API - need to return "Content-Type" as "[text/xml]"

Exposed API - need to return "Content-Type" as "[text/xml]"

When someone sends a get request to my exposed API, I want to return a header in the response of "Content-Type" is "[text/xml]" however, the default value I am defining is getting overwritten by outsystems as text/plain. 

To define the header, 

right click on method > new output parameter > Advanced>send in >header >defuault value > "[text/xml]" 

When I send a test from POSTman, I get that the header returned is "Content-Type" "text/plain" which means that my default it not being used, but a header Outsystems has decided on. 

I am new to Outsystems, so please excuse if there is an obvious solution

Hi Johann,

By default, the Content-Type is set based on the Response Format you set for the Exposed REST API. If you want to override it, you need to add an On Before Request and modify the Content-Type to what you want it to be (by iterating over the Headers List).

Hi Kilian, 

Thanks for the response. It does make sense that the type is being automatically assigned the header: "Content-Type" "text/xml" as the thing that I am returning is text.

I just want to see that we are on the same page. The question I had is with regards to an exposed API, not a consumed one. The documentation you pointed me toward is about customizing the header of a response from an API that I may be requesting from. 

I do not see the option to change the headers on the response of my own API that is exposed via OUtsystems. 

https://success.outsystems.com/Documentation/10/Extensibility_and_Integration/REST/Expose_REST_APIs/Customize_REST_API_Responses

This seems to talk about the exposed API, however, it does not seem to have an input for headers. 

I may be misunderstanding your previous answer, please let me know if you understand what I am trying to do. 

Perhaps to make my question more clear.