Webscreen view based on Role

Webscreen view based on Role

I am very new to the web platform.  I have a webscreen where the preparation at the moment is based on the user id.  I would like to have the screen show the users data when the user is logged in and show the users group when his manager is logged on.

I spent the last hour and a half looking through the knowledge base and have not found the answer.

Have mercy on a web noob, It is probably staring me right in the face

Thanks 

If you go to the logic tab, scroll down to Roles, you can view your roles there.

For each role there are 3 actions available, CheckRole, GrantRole and RevokeRole.

You can use CheckRole to find out wether the current user is a Manager or regular user:
CheckManagerRole(GetUserId())

If the user is a Manager, you can show extra details on the screen using an IF statement for example.

So use an if in the preparation logic based on group and role, then run the aggregate based on that logic?

It doesn't have to be in the preparation, you could place an IF widget on screen and only show a certain section (like the group part) if the User is a Manager.

If you wish to optimize performance you could also choose to add an IF in your preparation, where you would only run the aggregate based on wether the user is a Manager or not.

OK, now I'm lost.  I have a role set up in my module but when I go to assign the user to the role in the users screen it does not give me the option to assign the role to the user

Hmm that's pretty weird, maybe you have to set the role to public?

Andrew Finkelstein wrote:

OK, now I'm lost.  I have a role set up in my module but when I go to assign the user to the role in the users screen it does not give me the option to assign the role to the user

You published the module?
You need to publish so that the Role is stored in the system database.

Joey Moree wrote:

Hmm that's pretty weird, maybe you have to set the role to public?