Example of sending JSON in REST API Put request

Example of sending JSON in REST API Put request

I am in the process of creating my first REST API (Consume) connector in the OutSystems environment.   I am successfully authenticating, logging out, and reading data from the service's endpoints.  Now I am trying to update data.

I need to format and send JSON in the body of the request and the Request Format type should be JSON.  I would really appreciate a little guidance.  Here is the request:

I'm pretty sure that isn't correct and what the service actually wants in the body of the request is {"Status":"Inactive"}

However, here is my question.  When I change the Request Format from text to JSON it tells me the Request input value should be a structure or a list.  What kind of structure or list? Pretty dumb question but I'm still a newbie at this.  

Thanks,

Dave Schuler

Hi Dave,

JSON objects are surrounded by curly braces {} and are written in key/value pairs. Eg:  {"name":"Mary", "age":25 }

Have you read your REST producer's documentation about what kind of structure should be send to it?

All the best

Yes.  I understand what they want and I know how to format JSON.  That is not my question.

My question is about how to configure the OutSystems REST request to achieve the objectives I need to accomplish.  The request must be a Put. It must be JSON format.  When I select JSON in the Request Format property of the REST request, it tell me I need to provide an input value that is a structure or a list.  I can create a key-value structure that contains just the key and the value that I need to send.  Is that what OutSystems is looking for?

Hi David,

If you are consuming the rest API you need ask API documentation to from API owner in order to get Input JSON request and output JSON request and you need to simply paste these JSON`s in respective placeholder then plateform will automatically create structures to handle these Input/output JSON`s.

Regards

-SK-