[BeaconsPlugin] Beacon triggering enter and exit events repeteadly

Forge Component
(3)
Published on 2017-10-25 by Experts
3 votes
Published on 2017-10-25 by Experts

Hello, I am trying to integrate Beacons to outsystems using the Beacons Plugin in Forge.

When i am using the Beacon with the bluetooth on, que device detects that it entered in a Beacon region, but after some time (10 seconds or 30, it variates a lot) the exit event is triggered and after some time again (same as described) the device triggers the enter event.

I did'nt moved or touched the device or the beacon during these triggers, they just happens.

Anyone know how can I solve this issue??

Hi Eduardo

I have some experience with Beacons, and have seen this issue as well. My best guess is the shaky bluetooth signal strength that the beacon emits sometimes makes the mobile device not receive the signal, thus triggering the OnExit, and then triggering the OnEnter again when the signal grows stronger (I have seen this more and more when the Beacon's battery is running out).

To circumvent this issue, we implemented an OnExit count, where an OnExit event had to trigger 2 or 3 times consecutively before actually triggering the message we wanted the user to see upon exiting the store.

Hope this helps!

- CLSJ

Carlos López Santibáñez Jácome wrote:

Hi Carlos, that's a great idea, I'm going to try this tomorrow.

My only question is, the repetition of the enter/exit events occurs frequently on the Android than in iOS.

Do you think that this solution could helps to control the situation on the both devices?

Thanks in Advance.

Hi Eduardo