Extract data from a file and store in the Database.

Hello,

I'm new to Outsystems.

I'm trying to create a project to read the data from a file and save it to the database and will separate the data into different columns using the separator mentioned by the user.

Basically, the user has to mention the separator when he uploads the file.

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks!

-Madhu

Madhumathi Kannan wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Outsystems.

I'm trying to create a project to read the data from a file and save it to the database and will separate the data into different columns using the separator mentioned by the user.

Thanks!

-Madhu

Hi Madhumathi,

First you have to use string_split action (text will be your sting and delimiters will be separator given by users). 

this action will split the string on the basis on separators, then use string_split.list[0].text.value  to store in first column and so on.

hope it helps

Regards

Seema

Hi Madhu,

What kind of file you want upload to store in the Database?

Cheers,
Nuno Vedasca

Please, check this information, I believe that you will found all you need:

Cheers,
Nuno Verdasca

Nuno Miguel Verdasca wrote:

Hi Madhu,

What kind of file you want upload to store in the Database?

Cheers,
Nuno Vedasca

It can be any file. As of now I want to try with a .txt file.

-M

Seema Pandey wrote:

Madhumathi Kannan wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Outsystems.

Thanks!

-Madhu

Hi Madhumathi,

First you have to use string_split action (text will be your sting and delimiters will be separator given by users). 

this action will split the string on the basis on separators, then use string_split.list[0].text.value  to store in first column and so on.

hope it helps

Regards

Seema

Sure. I'll try it. Thank you!

But would you have any sample oml to refer?

Thanks!

So, please, look to this documentation:

Cheers,

Nuno Verdasca

Madhumathi Kannan wrote:

Seema Pandey wrote:

Madhumathi Kannan wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Outsystems.