Can a complete beginner really use Outsystems?

I have never done any app creation or coding before, but I a well-educated, intelligent person! I have gone through the initial setup an app video and looked at some training videos on youtube but I still understand absolutely nothing. Is it really possible for a complete beginner to start using outsystems without assistance?

I would tentatively say no, but I'm also sure people disagree with me. Software development is a skill, or a job if you like, and you need to understand the basics of programming, like variables, conditions, iterations, actions, functions, etc., and in case of OutSystems data modeling and querying, before you can be succesful in software development. But if you are indeed an intelligent, well-educated person, with some affinity to the technical side of things, I'm sure you could master the basics without difficulty.

What I would advise you, is to either take a course or class from an instructor, or find someone who's already proficient in software development, to go through the basics, so you have enough background to understand the training videos.

Although, my opinion doesn't differ from Kilian, but in a nutshell and relative comparison it is much much easier to onboard and develop an application using OutSystems. In my experience, I've seen few of consultants without any technical knowledge, (but well-educated, and sharp mind) caught OutSystems as their very first programming tool and they are doing really great.

As advised above, take an instructor-led course and follow the rich documentation of OutSystems. You may also follow a learning path on the Learning portal.

Found one jump start training being organized by OutSystems in various part of the world. Thought to share, maybe you would like to join.

Solution

Hi Katie,

Low code platform like Outsystems are easy to adapt and understand however a technical background is something must to have prerequisite to start with it.