I am fairly new to Outsystems. As a sole operator, I watched all the videos and did all the learning. I have a good grasp on the architectural concepts and the 4LC. I am building an application (still my first). I started with the database in one module and all else in another. I figured I would break the "all else" up into a proper architecture once I understood better how things would come together. Well 110 screens and 120 server actions later it is time to add completely different UI functionality. So, I have to tackle the architecture before I create the new UI.

Current Architecture

This is when I discovered that a simple assumption was wrong. I assumed I would have one application with multiple modules. Now I see that I could have a solution with multiple applications. I am not able to confidently understand the pros and cons of these two approaches. Can someone help?

Target Conceptual Architecture

Both UIs (PfM and PgM) will consume all server actions and the database. Server actions in all three groups (whether module or application) will need to consume the database. This is a multi-tenant application.

Is there a compelling reason to build these as applications in a solution as opposed to modules in an application?

•  Is one significantly more appropriate architecturally?
  •  Is one simpler to break apart and then maintain?
  •  In either approach can I simply cut and paste existing server actions or is it more complicated?
  •  Do the server actions belong in a blank module or a service module

Thanks for your assistance.

The reason to separate your concepts and their composition into different applications isn't easy to answer if you're just looking at your current application. This brings you more granularity, and right now the only advantage you can decisively identify is that it's easier to work with if you have a larger team, since code is more spread out between more modules.