Hi Folks,

I am new to the security aspects of Outsystems development. Recently during an audit it was discovered that certain parameters are being passed from one screen to another via URL parameters.

There are a few areas where I can disable URL passing by simply changing method type from Navigate to Submit. But this does not work in the case of pop ups. So I have situations where in the view source I can see pop up as "https:// env details/AppName/abc.aspx?ID=1234" and that can lead to copy and change on the browser . Can you please provide a fail safe way of using that parameter without causing any issues in terms of security.

Thanks

Solution

Anna Marie wrote:

Hi Folks,

I am new to the security aspects of Outsystems development. Recently during an audit it was discovered that certain parameters are being passed from one screen to another via URL parameters.

There are a few areas where I can disable URL passing by simply changing method type from Navigate to Submit. But this does not work in the case of pop ups. So I have situations where in the view source I can see pop up as "https:// env details/AppName/abc.aspx?ID=1234" and that can lead to copy and change on the browser . Can you please provide a fail safe way of using that parameter without causing any issues in terms of security.

Thanks

Hi Anna Marie,

I believe this can be achieved in more than one way.

1. Instead of passing on the parameters directly in the URL you could try setting this in the Session variable before you redirect the pop up to launch the page that you want. This effectively means that its stored and retrieved from the server rather than the URL.