Reactive Web Apps: Filter data inside of a local (List) variable?

Hi there!

I'm a beginning OutSystems developer working in Reactive Web Apps.
We're working on a screen that gets a list of data through an API.

This data should then be able to be filtered inside of the screen (through a search, and two dropdowns).
I've created a local list variable, of the same structure that we use to map the Output of the API on. I've assigned this local list variable with the data coming from the API call. The local list variable is used to show the data in a table on the screen.

But now, my question is: how can I best create the filters, so the data gets filtered on a screen?

Thanks in advance!
Marleen

Hi Marleen,

Do I understand correct you first get the 'full' set of data from the REST API, and from there on you only want to user to be able to filter the set of data received from the initial REST API call? Or do you want to pass the filter criteria to the REST API?

Regards,

Daniel

Daniël Kuhlmann wrote:

Hi Marleen,

Do I understand correct you first get the 'full' set of data from the REST API, and from there on you only want to user to be able to filter the set of data received from the initial REST API call? Or do you want to pass the filter criteria to the REST API?

Regards,

Daniel

Hi Daniël,

Thanks for your response!
The first option: filter the set of date received from the initial REST API call (without passing the filter criterea on to the API)

Thanks,

Marleen

I would save the result of the API in a local list variable named ApiResultList

Than have another list variable named FilteredList, that would contain the filtered result of the list received from the REST API. Bind this widget to your table widget.

Then have client screen action to filter the ApiResultList based on the user filter criteria. Bind this action to the filter widgets or filter button.

Hi Daniël,

Thanks for your info.