ServerAction does not run. Help me with a Step by Step, please.

I did some functions in javascript to access a DropBox URL and convert the content to Base64. When I use the JS component inside the "CLIENT ACTIONS", everything works fine.

However, I would like to run the script on the server side. When I add a "RUN SERVER ACTION" I can't get any feedback. Even an "alert ('TEST');" I can't run.

I am not yet familiar with the features of Outsystems. I'm a beginner. Could someone give me a very detailed step by step on how to make a javascript run using "RUN SERVER ACTION"?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Fabricio,

Server actions, hence the name run on the server, not in the browser.

For reactive web and mobile applications you should use the Javascript widget to execute javascript code in the browser.

For traditional web applications it is a bit different, see the following document: https://success.outsystems.com/Documentation/11/Extensibility_and_Integration/JavaScript/Extend_Your_Web_Application_Using_JavaScript/Define_and_Run_JavaScript_Code

Regards,

Daniel

Hi Fabricio,

In your Action flows, either in a Screen Action or a Server Action, you can use the RunJavaScript action of the HTTPRequestHandler extension to get your JavaScript code to run in the context of the browser.

However... Let me tell you that the RunJavaScript action does not RUN a JavaScript in the server! It only sends the JavaScript to the Browser. It is always the client (Browser) that runs the JavaScript, in a screen.

Hope it helps.

Rui Barradas

Thank you very much for the quick responses.

I still don't quite understand, I'm sorry.

1) See some screen. Can someone explain to me what is missing to perform some action with RunJavaScript?