How do I allow users to view only their data which is stored in a common entity?

Hi everyone, I'm new to Outsystems. In my app, I am creating a form for users to fill in everyday. This data is then stored in an entity. I want users to be able to view their entry history, however, I only want them to be able to view their own records and not other users'. The data must be stored in a common entity so that the app administrator is able to have the data is a single sheet. How do I go about doing this? Thanks!

Hello. You are placing a field to store the UserId in the entity, right?

Then create a screen that in its preparation you use an aggregate that has the following filter:

If(CheckRole(GetUserId()),True or False,YourEntitie.UserId=GerUserId())

Or something like this. 

You can create two screens.  Some with permission only for the Administrator and another for the ordinary user.  In the administrator there would be no filter, and in the common user one filter by UserId.

Hi RY,

I assume that you are storing UserId along with the data.

Given above assumption is correct:

In your aggregate for GetData Add the filter

Example from MoviesDB:

Again assuming your role name is Admin and entity name is DataEntity, the filter should be:

CheckAdminRole(UserId: GetUserId()) or DataEntiry.UserId = GetUserId()

Let me know if this helps.

Regards,

Saugat

R Y wrote:

Hi everyone, I'm new to Outsystems. In my app, I am creating a form for users to fill in everyday. This data is then stored in an entity. I want users to be able to view their entry history, however, I only want them to be able to view their own records and not other users'. The data must be stored in a common entity so that the app administrator is able to have the data is a single sheet. How do I go about doing this? Thanks!

Hi,

Yes, you can but for that entity must have userId column and at the time of data enrollment saved the logged in userId.