I am new to outsystems. I am doing a file uploading. How can I save the file? I read some notes regarding

the upload file system, it say to say the file in the screen action, use the Runtime Properties of the Upload Widget :

Upload.Content, Unpload.Filename,Upload.Type

My question is How to use them? What is runtime properties?

Or can you teach me how to save a file in the upload widgets

Hi Theow,

Here is a success document from OutSystems on how to enable end users to upload files from either a mobile or web application.

https://success.outsystems.com/Documentation/11/Developing_an_Application/Design_UI/Inputs/Enable_End_Users_to_Upload_Files

Regards,

Daniel

Hi Theow,

You have to create database table with binary attribute for file and text attribute for file name. Then create a variable with this table data type and use Create action to save file in the database. 

Hi Theow,

Adding to the above comments. I created a small app.

Check this:  File Upload Demo App

PFA - includes the .oml solution file

Below mentioned are the available Upload Widget Run-time Properties to hold the run-time state of the widget.

For temporary storage you can define and use a Screen Local Variable of Binary Data type to hold the Upload Content Value.

In order to save the uploaded file content permanently you have to use database table for that as suggested by Daryana.

Hope this helps you!

Regards,

Benjith Sam

Is this error cause by I am a upload a file created by miscrosoft words instead of using binary file to upload.

Theow Meng Ang wrote:

Is this error cause by I am a upload a file created by miscrosoft words instead of using binary file to upload.

Hi Theow,

The error occurred because the Uploaded File Name Length was exceeding the actual entity attribute(FileName) Length value. Try to upload a file with short Length FileName.

Hope this helps you!

Regards,

Benjith Sam

Hi Theow,