Views
Comments
Solved
How to create an input field that will accept multiple value ?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie in outsystems. I am currently working on a cms, and i would like to achieve a certain function but i didn't know how to do it here in outsystems. 

So here's the scenario:

I wanted to have an input field that would accept multiple values, save it to database and display its content as  a list. I like to do it like to accept a multiple value, the user could use a "/" to separate each content/value.

something like this:

This is how i wanted to display it:

• value1
  • value2
  • value3
  • value4

Some might wonder why not use separate input field for each value, the reason is for that certain page, there will be alot of list to display, therefore if i assigned an input for each value that will be alot and i guess it will not be an ideal one.

Is this even possible here in outsystems? Badly needed help. 

I hope someone could help me. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you so much.

Solution

Hello Laurence,

You can have your input value to be a text (string).

Then the user will insert a string like "Value1/Value2/Value3/Value4".

After this, you can use the String_Split function from the Text API and choose the value "/" as a delimiter.

This action returns a list of strings that results from splitting the original text and it allows you to break your string into different values:

• Position 0 - "Value1"
  • Position 1 - "Value2"
  • Position 3 - "Value3"
  • Position 4 - "Value4"

After this, you can just save the different values returned from the splitting in the database and list them as you pretend.

Let me know if you have any further questions.

Kind regards,

Rui Barradas

Hi Laurence, you can also do this with Javascript function split(), using "/" as a delimiter, this will transform the text into an array, the example bellow

eg:

<script>
    var names = 'Harry,John,Clark,Peter,Rohn,Alice';
    var nameArr = names.split(',');