Hello,

I'm new to outsystems and still trying to understand this concept.

If I create an APP, let's say for this example, an APP like UBER.

Every person that downloads the app and installs is considered an END USER?

I've been seeing the documentation and the only way (that i was able to find) to create an END USER is through the outsystems service studio.

Isn't it possible to allow the APP user to sign up himself into the APP and therefore become an END USER? 

Maybe I'm not properly understanding the concept of the END USER... can anyone help me?

thanks!

Hi Miguel,

It is possible to programmatically create users.  OutSystems will not automatically create a user when the user installs an application.  See the actions available in the Users and the UsersLibrary module, such as User_Create, EncryptPassword.

You will need to create a registration page.

Kind regards,

Stuart

Hello Miguel,

This is a very nice question indeed, I'll try my best to share my thoughs.

By its own definition, an End User is a person who ultimately uses or is intended to ultimately use a product. Let's say that the end user is the ultimate consumer of a specific product.

In your case (where the product is an Application like Uber), the end-user is considered as every person who downloads the application, installs it and use it. You can download any applications you like, but if you don't use them, you can't be considered as an End User for those applications.

This concept is directly associated to the production environment. For instance, when you are developing a new application, there are at least 3 environments:

• Development environment - where programmers develop the application;
  • Quality environment - where testers can use and test the application;
  • Production environment - where end-users can use the application.