Views
Comments
What is purpose of exposed REST "Send in: Header" purpose because it does nothing!
Question

I am implementing an exposed REST API where I need to send a value in the "Location" header (and other headers but focusing on this one only) in the response. It is my first time requiring to add headers to response. This is the ID of the record that was created in the POST, as determined by the protocol I am implementing.

So I could not find any documentation about how to add headers in the response of an exposed REST. I saw that one can set an output variable on the REST action and select the attribute "Send In" to value "Header". From this then I gather it shall be sent in the Response Header, further once one selected the "Send In" value as "Header" the "Name in Response" becomes enabled, then I further will assume that here one then supply the name of the header, such as "Location" in this case. I did this and assign a value to the LocationHeader variablle inside the REST action, but nothing is returned in the response header.

Below is screenshot of my example.

Please if someone be so kind to explain to me:

1. The purpose of "Send In: Header" and the "Name in Response", because OutSystems documentation has nothing on this.

2. How to set the header of the response if one needs to, once again OutSystems documentation has nothing on this either (none that I was able to find after reading OS11 expose REST APIs documentation here the link below, which has minimal info and NOTHING on headers, we are to guess how to do this: https://success.outsystems.com/Documentation/11/Extensibility_and_Integration/REST/Expose_REST_APIs)

Elize van der Riet wrote: