Views
Comments
Solved
How do make a deep copy of nested widgets e.g. a block containing blocks?

I need to  copy a nested structure of widgets where each widget gets copied (i.e. a deep copy).   A block containing sub blocks each containing a card (for example) .  Currently when I try this the sub blocks in the copy are just pointers back to the original (like a shallow copy).  Are deep copies of nested widgets possible?

Solution

Thanks for everyones responses on this and I appreciate your time.  But I'm closing this issue.

I have been looking at the issue further and the context of my question is not correct (I'm quite new to Outsystems) as things are not handled as I was thinking and I have got a solution using local variables and expressions.

FYI. Shallow and deep copies are terms from source code development where there are dynamic allocated resources as a part of a class instance and the class instance is copied.  The copy can contain either a pointer back to the allocated part (shallow - ie there is still only a single instance of the allocated part) or a full second instance of the allocated part (deep).   But I've worked out this doesn't apply here as its to do with the javascript building of the screen etc.

Hi John, 

I couldn't understand your problem, can you show screenshots or a video of the problem?

Hi John,

I also didn't quite understand your question.

But would it have anything to do with using the webblock recursively? That depends more on your data models than the webblock itself. Perhaps this example can help you, if it is the case to use recursive webblocks.

https://www.outsystems.com/forge/component-overview/8075/exemplorecursivos

If you need help to understand it, you can contact me.

Hi John,

Could you please explain your question in more detail?