Views
Comments
Solved
CSS Override
Question

Hello everyone!
I'm new to Outsystems and I'm currently doing the online Traditional Development training.

I'm having difficulties to make the css override to work properly. 

Right now I'm working on the header and I'm applying some changes to the .header and .layout classes, but it's not affecting the final css.
I'm aware of the css precedences, I'm following all the steps in the tutorial, but still, it doesn't work.

I attached some photos of the OS CSS Editor and also the webpage with the Chrome inspect editor opened.

Can someone help me please?

photos.pdf

Solution

So the CSS to be applied on your theme should be ok with this:

.layout .header {
    background-color: #185f8d; 
}

I think your CSS written after a syntax error is being ignored because you have a syntax error over there:

.layout .header {
    background-image: url('img/HeaderMask.png'); 
    background-position-x: center;
    background-repeat: no-repeat;
}

You need to use a single quote around the url text as in the example above. And once again, you should use the .layout .header to match the one of OutSystems UI and therefore override that one.

Solution

And you are right. But the case here is that the CSS that I showed to you is based on all the CSS that are being applied to a given component. I asked you to see yours in order to know what is missing.

Knowing this will help us to search for the problem.

Hi Luiz, 

Could you send me the CSS text in order to make possible to me to test this?

Best regards.

Hi Kadu,

This is the css I'm using to override the Main Theme.

The last class .loginusername is being applied properly.
But the .header is not.

I noticed just now that the Theme doesn't actually implement these classes that I'm using here, but they are implemented in the BaseTheme though.

Anyway, my css should override it right?

Thank you for the quick response!

[disabled="disabled"], [readonly="readonly"] {
    border: 0px;
}