IN clause Alternatives

Hey,

My name is Cláudia and I'm doing my thesis with OutSystems and it is related with expressiveness limitations in the Aggregates. In this context, I would like to ask you how do you usually solve the following use case:

- Imagine you have a table with products and that each product belongs to a category (as can be seen in the first picture below);

- Imagine you have a dropdown tags (as can be seen in the superior right corner in the same picture) to filter that table with products by one or more selected categories in that dropdown;

How would you filter that list of products by the selected categories given that the Aggregates don't currently support the IN clause and assuming that you can't use SQL? The desired result is the one that can be seen in the second picture. I know that using the Index function is probably the most common way of solving this problem despite the SQL one, but I am particularly interested in finding patterns of other possible solutions that also don't use SQL.

Thank you for your time!

Hi,

You could convert your aggregate to SQL and use the BuildSafe_InClauseIntegerList and BuildSafe_InClauseTextList action from sanitization module.

Please refer to this link for Building Dynamic SQL Statements the Right Way

Hope this helps!

Thank you

Hey Marco, thank you very much for replying :)

I am actually interested in solutions that don't use SQL. I forgot to mention this in the post, sorry. 

So can you tell me how you would solve this without using SQL?

Hi,

Apologies for misunderstanding. Though, If I have to stick with using aggregates, I would also use the Index function.

Thanks

It was my fault, don't worry :) thank you again for giving your feedback!

Without using SQL IN (which is definitly the cost effective way to go) another "solution" would be, that you

• Cycle thru your selected categories
  • Use the FilterList Action on the aggreate result
  • Append the FilteredList to a ResultList