What should I inventory before building a new functionality?
Application Type
Traditional Web

I'd like some sort of checklist that I have to go through in chronological order to make sure I've thought of all facets in preparation for building a new functionality. 

For example,
Step 1: which data do I want to use and whether can I store it in the database?
Step 2: Etc.

I hope that a checklist can help me to not forget anything in preparation for building so that I can start working on a functionality within the most efficient possible time (which can be better estimated as a result).

Hi @Maurice 

Hope you are doing well.

So, I'm not an expertise in the matter, but I've worked in some projects already.

So, if the functionality is a screen itself, and you have the design (mockups, prototypes) is easier to visualize what you are going to do. Otherwize it will be a bit different since you have to imagine how things are going to be.

I will try to give you examples on going, these more applied to OutSystems.

• Do I have a mockup? Do I need to create it?
  • What's the goal of this functionality (Ex.:In this screen I want to list all beers that I have, with filters and sorts. It will have to have a link to Beer_Detail also.)
  • Which tables I will need to have (Ex.: Beer, Brand, Country)
  • What fields do I need to Use (Ex.: Beer name, Brand name, Country name, Quantity)
  • Can I connect them easily? (Ex.:If a simple aggregate can do the job, or must use SQL)
  • What actions do I need to create (Ex.: Do I need to change data? Do I need to bring data from other core?)
  • Estimate a time you will take to complete the task(This is more on a company level) (Ex.: 2 hours will be enought to make this)
  • Hands on the job.