How to connect my local Oracle DB to Outsystems

How to connect my local Oracle DB to Outsystems

I am new to OutSystems. Could someone help how to connect my local Oracle DB to OutSystems? I have installed OutSystems (FULL) and Oracle 10g Express edition on my PC. Now I want to develop an application and would like use my local oracle 10g as application's database instead of the one bundled with Outsystems. Could someone give me instructions on how to do the setup and use my local oracle DB? thanks
Hi Raj, and welcome to the OutSystems community forums.

You should be able to connect the Agile Platform Community Edition to your existing Oracle database.

However, that is not such a straightforward process as setting it up to connect to SQL Server.

You can learn more about it by reading our .Net Install Checklist, and selecting the Database role, and an Oracle database. Follow the steps and scripts to configure the required database users and tables.

Let us know if this helps!

Paulo Tavares
Hi Paulo, thank You !!!

I tried doing database connection in Service Center to connect to my local oracle database (10g Express Edition), but it threw error which is as follows -
"Connection String test failed: System.Data.OracleClient requires Oracle client software version 8.1.7 or greater.". 

I have installed OutSystems and Orcale 10g XE on the same m/c.

Could you help me where I am going wrong?

Probably just me, but did you actually install the Client too ?

Usually this is a seperate download, in fact you probably only need the ODP.NET install (that's enough for me to connect to a remote Oracle db on the Agile server, though I must admit I have not used Oracle for the internal DB yet).

Hi Raj,

Well, Hans did ask a valid question, though I fear that the problem might be elsewhere.