Using Outsystems for e-learning
Application Type
Traditional Web, Mobile

I'm relatively new to OutSystems and I was wondering if there are any apps or examples where OutSystems is used to build an e-learning application, or what is coming near to such functionality. I've searched the community and internet and I didn't found anything so far. Maybe I've missed some entries? Or is there a good reason why Outsystems seems  to be not used for such functionality?

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

Hi Kevin,

It will all depend on the level of customization you need for your particular use cases. For the ones you have described so far, the Learn section of the OutSystems website is the perfect example. As far as I am aware, the exception is Rise 360 modules/SCORM.

• Community Users are self-service (you register on your own and can manage your profile)
  • YouTube video is integrated in many lessons, as is text, images, documents and even zip files with learning resources
  • You have lessons (and exercises), quizzes, sections, courses and guided paths to help you organize your learning experience. These are also classified using tags/categories. You even have a Training planner to help you build a customized learning experience based on your needs.
  • Users can keep track of their progress in each course they are following. This includes a gamification component.

There are surely back-office features to keep track of learners' progress so decisions regarding the experience can be made by the development team (this is me speculating, but that data is definitely being used to drive the evolution of the system) 

Generically speaking, the platform provides you the tools for most of what you need to develop an LMS. It will depend on how much effort you want to put into it: