Use value of input outside block
Application Type
Reactive
Service Studio Version
11.11.14 (Build 48084)

Hello,

I am new to outsystems and can't find the very basics unfortunately.

I structured components into multiple blocks to reuse them in different places within my app that I want to develop.

Lets start with the most simple variant:
A block with an input, connected to an input parameter that is provided by the parent screen.

Value of this input should be saved on the parent screen. But the variable is only transferred into the block but not out of the block where it can be saved. I do not want to save the variable inside the block (because there should be no save button there). 

So how do you use the value/variable of an input outside a block?

Parent screen with inserted block:

Properties of Block with input parameter:

Variable passed to block:

I think this is very basic and i am kind of frustrated that I cannot find the documentation to accomplish such a basic behavior.

Looking forward to you answers. Thank you!

Best regards

Adrian

Hi Adrian,

with that scenario you're sending the value to the parent on every change of the variable in the input, it doesn't include focusOut() actions.

If you're sending immediately the value to the parent using the event on the OnChange you cannot debug it.

If you need some kind of validation before sending to parent, check this oml, it uses a client action on the OnChange that calls the event, allowing some code before the event is triggered.

Regards

TestMasterDetail.oml

Hi Jose,

thank you for your oml file. I think I will implement this also.

Are there any downsides of this additional Client Action within the block? Maybe performance issues?
How would you create the block and Client Actions if the block contains more than one input?

Best regards

Adrian

It's a simple client action without much else, the performance cost is irrelevant.

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

Hi Adrian,