How to pass values (parameters) into a JSON request body for a POST API
Application Type
Service
Service Studio Version
11.50.12 (Build 49299)
Platform Version
11.13.0 (Build 31107)

I have the following OutSystems challenge. Be patient with me, I am new to OutSystems.

I wish to consume a REST API that requires POST format and the Request body is required to be in JSON format. I would like to insert parameters in the request body that I would like to change. Example Request body could be.

{

"query": "query mySearch {\n  searchForProducts(layer: \"layer1\", source: \"Main\", first: 10, condition: {name: {queryString: \"*red*\", operator: like, ignoreCase: true}}) {\n    maxResultSizeExceeded\n    pageInfo {\n      hasPreviousPage\n      hasNextPage\n      startCursor\n      endCursor\n    }\n    pageElements {\n      id\n      name\n      approvalStatus\n      parent {\n        id\n        name\n      }\n    }\n  }\n}\n",

"variables": null,

"operationName": "mySearch"

}

With a static JSON string everything is fine. An example of a parameter would be wanting to use an input parameter for the queryString and number of result in first n

So I think the challenge is how to pass input parameters into the request body.

To add a little more context I actually stored the request body in an Entity called myQueries and use GetQueriesbyID to reference the correct JSON request. I plan to store multiple query templates in the Entity and create this as a service module that is repurposed across many applications using same API.

If it is not possible to pass parameters into the request body, which would be the easiest solution, then I need to look at assembling the JSON prior to making the REST request. The JSON request body is very complex (hence the desire to reference it from an entity) so I am not sure JSON Serialize will help or is the right tool or can do this.