Writing logic for a on click button

Hi Everyone,

Need to write the logic for accept button. On click accept it should store the data of the drop down menu, the comments input section and the details of the table.

Service studio Screenshot -

Ui Screenshot

Hi Saif,

You should just put a create/update statement behind the Accept button that inserts (or updates if that is possible) a row in the table that you use for storing the records (this would also be the source of the table in the UI).

I assume that the data in the dropdown has its own source and is connected to the other table using a foreign key. If so, you should be able to just pass all the values to the server side of your application and do the create statement. 

After that action do a refresh of the data aggregate and the newly created record will be visible!

Hi Max,

Thank you for Swift reply. Could you assist me with steps since i am a beginner with outsystems.

Hi Saif,

Regarding the reply you made to Pallavi, the source data you have is coming from an external DB using API, right? Are these also the values that populate the dropdown?
Do you need to make changes to this data by adding whether it got approved or not and storing the comment or are you saving the approvals locally?

In case of the latter, do the following:

- Create a server action in the core of your application (CreateUpdateRecommandation for instance).
- Add input parameters of type: Recommandation Id (coming from the API), Dropdown value Id (if needed) and Comment (text).You also chose to expose the entire table you are saving to and using that as input parameter (set the type to the table).

In the server action do a assign statement where you assign above values to a variable of type RecommandationTable and createUpdate action after that. 

If you need to make changes the data provided by the API you can do something similar but with a POST or PUT API type.