Input Mask Reactive with Limitations (Limited input)
Application Type
Reactive
Service Studio Version
11.11.4 (Build 43812)

Good Day Community,

I am currently studying using the forge component of Input Mask React.

Right now I am trying to create a time input field with certain limitation

Hour Time - 01-12

Minute Time - 00-59

Alphabetical - AM or PM only.

-----------------------------------------------------------------SIDE NOTE-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have seen a post creating the javascript but I am not quite sure on how to implement this on outsystems.

Here is what I have done currently using the javascript above.

OnInitialize called the script source

Created the input field to call the input parameter.

Still studying what I did wrong. Nothing is happening apparently.

Regards,

Pens

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

Hi Pens,

For the mentioned use case, 

1) Load the imaskJS in the OnReady action using the RequireScript client action (referenced from the System module)

2) Register the mask to the input in the OnReady flow.

See the demo: TimeInputMaskDemo

Refer to the attached oml file

I hope this helps you!

Kind regards,

Benjith Sam

LearningApp.oml

Solution

@Pens When you are trying to access an element of the page, you should NOT run Javascript logic in the OnInitialize and run it on the OnReady event instead.

The reason for this is that the OnReady action is triggered when the DOM (Document Object Model) is loaded. This means that only at this point you have access to the elements of the screen, while if you run JS logic in OnInitialize (which happens before this) you might be trying to access elements that still do not exist.

So, Just import the script using the "RequireScript" client action and then place a JS node right after with the JS code that you placed in the side note.