Outsystems and DB2 on System I, ISeries, AS/400

Outsystems and DB2 on System I, ISeries, AS/400

Hi, I'm new to outsystems and was looking for some information on connecting to DB2 on the Iseries/SystemI/As400.

I've searched the boards, but there never really seems to be anyone who has it working and it willing to share.

We have a huge amount of business logic being powered on the platform and I'm looking to give the system a facelift without having to rewrite everything. 

So if you have tips, suggestions, horror stories it would give me some ideas what I'm getting myself into.

Eamonn
Hi Eamonn,

In order to connect your OutSystems app to your AS400 database, you can setup a DB link from MS SQL Server to AS400. Then, you have two alternatives for accessing the data (see below).

Instructions below assume you have a SQL Server / .Net installation, but they can be adapted to different settings.

Setup the linked server

First, go to SQL Server, and setup a linked server to the AS400 database. You may have to setup a specific DB provider - get help from your DB Admin if needed. See also Paulo Silva's message on this topic:
http://www.outsystems.com/NetworkForums/ViewTopic.aspx?Topic=Hub-Server-supported-platforms

Once this is done, you have two options for accessing the data.

A. Import entities

A1. Go to IS, click File > Import > Import Entities from Database...
A2. Search and select the tables to import.
A3. Publish the extension.
A4. In ServiceStudio (SS), use Add/Remove References to select the entities from the extension you have just published. You can now use them in queries.

B. Use Openquery

B1. Go to IS, and create an action for retrieving your data (ex: GetData); add the relevant input / output parameters.
B2. Click Edit Source Code .NET to open Visual Studio. Add code for accessing the data - use Openquery:
OPENQUERY ( linked_server ,'query' )
  More info here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms188427.aspx
B3. Publish the extension.