Cannot use Check...Roles function

Cannot use Check...Roles function

Hello,

I'm very new to Outsystems so sorry if this has been asked before. I'm trying to show or hide a link based on if the current user is in the Admin role, which I have defined, and added a user to. I can see the action in Logic > Roles > Admin > CheckAdminRole but I cannot use it.

In an expression I see the error "Unknown object 'CheckAdminRole' in expression". I also cannot drag CheckAdminRole to an action in my screen or block. When I try it shows a little "no symbol" (red circle with a line through it). I've watched the Master Class on Security course and it shows me what to do but when I try to do it Outsystems won't let me. Is this a limitation of the free version?

Thanks,

Jim

Forgot to mention, I do see the Admin role listed as a check box in the screen properties, so it seems to be working somewhat. I just can't figure out how to call CheckAdminRole.

Hi James,

If you want to hide or show a link based on the role, you can simply put the condition by dragging checkAdminRole() on link's visible property. 

You also find this on Screen level as well. If you want only authorize users to view your page, You can simply mark checkbox selected. 

https://www.outsystems.com/help/ServiceStudio/9.1/index.htm#t=Handling_security%2FUse_Roles.htm

Sachin

Sachin Mahawar wrote:

Hi James,

If you want to hide or show a link based on the role, you can simply put the condition by dragging checkAdminRole() on link's visible property. 

You also find this on Screen level as well. If you want only authorize users to view your page, You can simply mark checkbox selected. 

https://www.outsystems.com/help/ServiceStudio/9.1/index.htm#t=Handling_security%2FUse_Roles.htm

Sachin

Thanks,

My If Condition window looks like this:

Only the GetUserId() function is available. 

My Logic tab looks like this:

So the role seems to exist.

When I try to drag CheckAdminRole to an action I see this: