[OutSystems Maps] More examples please!
Question
Forge component by OutSystems R&D
Application Type
Mobile

I tried to use the Outsystems Maps component because it is Supported by Outsystems. Got the basics OK but then want to change the pins. Failed miserably despite exploring very limited Outsystems documentation and Google's documentation (I'm no javascript expert).

Looking for help I found another question on this component suggesting that "Google Maps Mobile Samples" should be looked at. This was very helpful and I've used it for my App. However, it doesn't use the Outsystems Maps component at all and instead implements its own component "GoogleMapsMobileCustom". 

So, I'm sorted but I'm not using the Supported Component, all for the sake of a few good working examples - much like what "Google Maps Mobile Samples" demonstrates. Any chance that you could create the equivalent of "Google Maps Mobile Samples" for this component?

Solution

Hello @Tim Bates,

We have a new release in from the OutSystems Maps with a new Sample Application.

You can check in the Try Now or following this link.

Hello @Tim Bates 

We are working in creating samples for Maps, very much like we have in Reactive Data Grid.

Can you please take a look and tell us if this structures that we currently have is what you would be expecting, but for the OutSystems Maps component?

Thanks,

Yes, that looks good. Look forward to it being ready.

Solution

Hello @Tim Bates,

We have a new release in from the OutSystems Maps with a new Sample Application.

You can check in the Try Now or following this link.

Yes, it's a good component, but for example, I tried to set a direction between 2 markers, and it's not possible, just with the GoogleMapsMobile component.

One solution for the pins is using the advanced options on markers and set the icon and if you want a label inside the pin/marker you can use the property label.

"{label: {text: "labelInsidePin", color: 'white' }}"