MariaDB supported as External DB?
Application Type
Reactive

I'm brand new to OS and testing out the core requirements for a successful project. 

I have searched extensively but found no answer to the question: Is MariaDB supported as an external DB? 

According to cPanel the MySQL version installed by my webhosting provider is:

MySQL Version10.3.32-MariaDB-cll-lve

Thanks in advance!

Hello Dirk Stoltz

Officially, MariaDB is not supported by OutSystems. 

Even so, you can perform some connection tests with MariaDB using the MySQL connection. 

OutSystems is based on DotNET, I believe that the MySQL ADO Connector will connect your MariaDB server without great problems.

Test and give us a feedback.

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

Hello Dirk.

Like Daniel, I assume MySQL and MariaDB will have similar requirements.

Even if no one mentions MariaDB specifically, you can try on your own with the free Personal Environment. I connected mine to an external MySQL years ago.

mvp_badge
MVP

That was indeed my reasoning Nuno, thanks.

Hi Daniel

Of course I watched the video... twice. Honestly, I searched both this forum and the Internet in general for WAY more than an hour.

So no, that video is not a source of information for my question. 

Hello Dirk Stoltz

Officially, MariaDB is not supported by OutSystems. 

Even so, you can perform some connection tests with MariaDB using the MySQL connection. 

OutSystems is based on DotNET, I believe that the MySQL ADO Connector will connect your MariaDB server without great problems.

Test and give us a feedback.

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

Hello Dirk.

Like Daniel, I assume MySQL and MariaDB will have similar requirements.

Even if no one mentions MariaDB specifically, you can try on your own with the free Personal Environment. I connected mine to an external MySQL years ago.

mvp_badge
MVP

That was indeed my reasoning Nuno, thanks.

Thanks guys, I will try using a connection string once my hosting provider provides it.