Internationale Anwaltskanzlei CMS erstellt mobile Wissensmanagement-App für 1.500 Anwälte mit OutSystems

Die internationale Top-10-Kanzlei CMS nutzte verschiedene Legacy-Systeme, die es der Organisation erschwerten, als Einheit zu agieren. Als die Corporate/M&A-Abteilung der Kanzlei das IT-Team bat, ein neues globales Kollaborationstool zu entwickeln, fiel die Entscheidung auf OutSystems. Die mobile App „My CMS“ konnte in Rekordzeit bereitgestellt werden. Den Mitarbeitern fällt es nun leichter, die Expertise und die Informationen zu finden, die sie für ihre Arbeit brauchen. Mittlerweile wird OutSystems in mehreren Projekten eingesetzt, um die digitale Transformation der Kanzlei zu beschleunigen. Dazu zählt auch die Bereitstellung innovativer mobiler Apps für Kunden.

 

17 Mitgliedskanzleien und 75 Standorte

17 Mitgliedskanzleien und 75 Standorte

Über 8.000 vorgesehene Anwender der neuen mobilen App

Über 8.000 vorgesehene Anwender der neuen mobilen App

5 Monate bis zur Bereitstellung von „My CMS“

5 Monate bis zur Bereitstellung von „My CMS“

Nun auch Bereitstellung von mobilen Apps für Kunden

Nun auch Bereitstellung von mobilen Apps für Kunden

Hélder Santos
„Wir haben OutSystems für ein erfolgreiches internationales Projekt eingesetzt und beginnen nun OutSystems zu nutzen, um die digitale Transformation der Kanzlei zu beschleunigen, das Geschäft zu globalisieren und zu integrieren und Kunden mehr zu bieten.“Hélder Santos, Digital and IT Director, CMS Legal

Legacy-Systeme erschwerten es CMS, als Einheit zu agieren

Herausforderung – CMS ist eine der zehn größten internationalen Anwaltskanzleien. Die Kanzlei ist in 70 Städten in 43 Ländern vertreten und verfügt über 75 Standorte weltweit. Durch eine Reihe von Fusionen – unter anderem die Zusammenführung von CMS, Nabarro und Olswang im Jahr 2017 – hatte CMS eine sehr heterogene IT-Landschaft. Aufgrund verschiedener Legacy-Systeme war es für CMS schwierig, als Einheit zu agieren. Um sowohl das anhaltend schnelle Wachstum zu unterstützen als auch weiteren Mehrwert für Kunden zu bieten, musste die Kanzlei Ressourcen bündeln und Innovationen beschleunigen.

CMS Legal Services ist das zentrale Dienstleistungszentrum der Kanzlei mit Sitz in Frankfurt. Seine Aufgabe umfasst die Bereitstellung von Technologiedienstleistungen und Lösungen, um organisatorische Veränderungen und Geschäftsinnovationen zu ermöglichen. Die Integration und Standardisierung der Systeme und Prozesse der Kanzlei sind hierbei von zentraler Bedeutung.

In der Vergangenheit stützte sich die IT von CMS meist auf angepasste Standard-Applikationen. Die Entwicklung bzw. Anpassung folgte dem Wasserfallmodell. Auch wenn die IT in der Fähigkeit, das globale Geschäft zu unterstützen, erhebliche Fortschritte erzielt hatte, war in Sachen Agilität noch viel zu tun.

„Wir waren bei der Bereitstellung von Lösungen zu langsam. Das lag zum Teil an mangelnder Standardisierung und einem geringen Grad an Wiederverwendung. Allzu oft führte dies nicht nur zu einer langsamen Bereitstellung, sondern auch zur Einführung von Systemen, die schwer anzuwenden, zu reproduzieren und zu verändern waren.“Hélder Santos, Digital and IT Director, CMS Legal

2018 forderte die Corporate/M&A-Abteilung Santos’ Team auf, eine mobile Applikation bereitzustellen, die Mitarbeiter dabei unterstützt, relevantes Fachwissen zu finden und die internationale Zusammenarbeit im Unternehmen zu verbessern. Bis dato war eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung im Einsatz, der jedoch eine begleitende mobile App fehlte und die vergleichsweise schwer zu nutzen und zu verbessern war.

OutSystems bietet eine Plattform für Innovationen

Lösung – Santos kannte OutSystems aus früheren Projekten als IT Director für CMS in Portugal und wusste, dass ein Low-Code-Ansatz die Agilität steigert und dabei hilft, die Probleme der langsamen Bereitstellung, begrenzten Wiederverwendung und schwer veränderbaren Implementierungen zu überwinden.

Nach einer Ausschreibung entschied sich CMS für die OutSystems-Plattform, um die neue mobile Applikation zu erstellen. Das wichtigste Auswahlkriterium war für Hélder Santos die Flexibilität: „OutSystems bietet uns eine Plattform, die wir für eine ganze Reihe von Web- und Mobile-Entwicklungsprojekten nutzen können. Im Vergleich zur manuellen Programmierung ist sie flexibler und erleichtert die Wiederverwendung und Replikation von Lösungen sowie die Integration mehrerer Datenquellen.“

Im Januar 2019 legte CMS die folgenden Ziele für die neue Applikation fest:

  • Benutzer sollen Partner und Anwälte anhand einer Vielzahl von Kriterien wie Standort, Fachkenntnisse, Branche und Sprachen finden können.
  • Die App soll über Publikationen, Events, Rankings, Newsletter, Panel-Vereinbarungen und Transaktionen informieren.
  • Gewährleistung von Datenverfügbarkeit, Datenschutz und Sicherheit.
  • Zugang jederzeit und überall – über das Web oder eine mobile App.
  • Erstklassige Nutzererlebnisse, unabhängig von Gerät oder Bildschirmformat.

Dabei stellte sich auch heraus, dass die App eine Backend-Integrationsschicht benötigt, um eine Verbindung zu mehreren organisationsweiten Informationsquellen wie Intranet, Website, Active Directory und mehr herzustellen.

Noesis
Channel-Partner

Jade Eli hat vier Schwerpunkte: 1. OutSystems Low-Code-Technologie 2. Blockchain-Implementierung 3. KI für Unternehmen 4. Entwicklung der Gamifizierung für Geschäftsprozesse. Dies ermöglicht es uns, die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden zu unterstützen.

Erfahren Sie mehr über Jade Eli Technologies

Mobile-First-Lösung verbindet Kollegen mit der Expertise und dem Wissen, das ihre Arbeit erfordert

Ergebnisse – Binnen fünf Monaten hat CMS in Zusammenarbeit mit zwei Entwicklern des OutSystems-Partners Jade Eli die Mobile- und Web-Applikation „My CMS“ für die 1.500 Anwälte der weltweiten Corporate/M&A-Abteilung entwickelt und eingeführt. Die App wurde mit Begeisterung angenommen, erzählt Santos.

„Das Feedback ist positiv – die Anwender schätzen das moderne Erscheinungsbild und dass sie die gesuchten Informationen oder Fachkenntnisse so einfach finden. Auch für Content-Ersteller wie z. B. Marketing-Mitarbeiter ist es viel einfacher, die verantworteten Inhalte einzugeben und zu verwalten. Die Informationen sind dadurch aktueller.“

CMS erwartet, dass die App auch in anderen Abteilungen der Kanzlei eingeführt und schließlich von über 8.000 CMS-Mitarbeitern weltweit genutzt wird. Darüber hinaus überträgt CMS mehrere andere Dienste auf OutSystems, darunter SharePoint, eine Wiki-Plattform und diverse manuelle Prozesse. Dadurch erwartet die Kanzlei geringere Software-Lizenzkosten.

Nach dem Erfolg von „My CMS“ nutzt das IT-Team OutSystems auch für kundenorientierte Entwicklungsprojekte. Der „Data Breach Assistant" zum Beispiel liefert Kunden eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung, wie im Fall einer Verletzung der Datensicherheit vorzugehen ist. Das korrekte Verhalten von Mitarbeitern ist in entsprechenden Situationen von zentraler Bedeutung, um Gesetze einzuhalten. Die App hilft Kunden, nicht-konformes Verhalten zu vermeiden, und reduziert so das Risiko hoher Geldstrafen.

Ausblick

Der Erfolg des „My CMS“-Projekts hat in der gesamten Kanzlei einen großen Enthusiasmus für ähnliche Web- und Mobile-Entwicklungsprojekte hervorgebracht.

Nach der Entwicklung der Backend-Integrationsschicht mithilfe von OutSystems erwartet CMS zudem, dass der Ansatz weiter ausgedehnt wird. Santos erklärt: „Wir haben bewiesen, dass sich OutSystems zur Integration unserer verschiedenen IT-Systeme einsetzen lässt. Durch die Nutzung und Erweiterung dieses Backends gehen wir davon aus, dass wir zukünftige Entwicklungsprojekte für Web und Mobile noch schneller umsetzen können.“

Längerfristig sieht CMS die Erstellung einer Enterprise-Referenzarchitektur vor, um die digitale Transformation von CMS zu unterstützen. OutSystems soll eine zentrale Rolle dabei spielen und sicherstellen, dass diese Architektur CMS die nötige Agilität verleiht, um Innovationen auch in Zukunft schnell umzusetzen.

New e-Court Platform Represents a “Tectonic Shift” in the Administration of Justice

The new platform for e-Court had to bring all the stakeholders together: plaintiffs, bailiffs, defendants, arbitrators, and lawyers. In addition, e-Court had stringent requirements for security, scalability, speed, user-friendliness, and integration capabilities.

International Law Firm Vieira de Almeida Prepares for a Digital Future with OutSystems

Leading Portuguese law firm Vieira de Almeida (VdA) wanted to improve the efficiency of key business processes and free-up its lawyers so they could focus more on adding value for their clients. With OutSystems, the firm has designed and implemented case management and workflow tools that automate and accelerate critical legal processes.

Randstad’s Innovation Leads to 30% Faster Recruitment and New Revenue Streams

HR services specialist Randstad is dedicated to helping employers find and recruit the right talent to grow their business. When it needed to provide fast, actionable insights to job candidates and recruitment consultants, it used OutSystems to quickly develop new capabilities.

Global Law Firm CMS Builds Mobile Knowledge Management App for 1,500 Lawyers with OutSystems

Legacy systems at top ten global law firm CMS made it difficult for the entire organization to act as one. When the firm's corporate/M&A practice challenged IT to deliver a new global collaboration tool, they chose OutSystems to deliver the “My CMS” mobile app in record time. Employees now find it easier to find the expertise and information needed for their work. OutSystems is now being used in multiple projects to accelerate the firm's digital transformation, including innovative customer-facing mobile apps that help CMS deliver more value to customers.

 

17 member firms and 75 offices

17 member firms and 75 offices

8,000+ staff to use new mobile app

8,000+ staff to use new mobile app

5 months to deliver “My CMS”

5 months to deliver “My CMS”

Now delivering mobile apps for customers

Now delivering mobile apps for customers

Hélder Santos
"We used OutSystems for a successful global project, and we are now starting to use OutSystems to accelerate the firm's digital transformation, globalize and integrate the business, and deliver more value to customers."Hélder Santos, Digital and IT Director, CMS Legal

Legacy Systems Made it Hard for CMS to Act as One

Challenge - Ranked as a Top 10 Global Law Firm, CMS operates in 70 cities in 43 countries and with 75 offices worldwide. Having grown through a series of mergers—including the coming together of CMS, Nabarro, and Olswang in 2017—CMS inevitably had a very diverse IT landscape. A mixture of legacy systems made it difficult for CMS to act as one firm. To support continued rapid growth, while at the same time providing more value to clients, the firm needed to pool resources, and accelerate innovation.

CMS Legal Services is the firm’s central services center, based in Frankfurt. Its mission includes providing technology services and solutions to enable organizational change and business innovation. Integration and standardization of the firm’s systems and processes are central to that mission.

In the past, CMS IT had typically relied on customized off-the-shelf applications. Development, or customization, followed a waterfall implementation approach. Even though substantial progress had been made in IT's ability to serve the global business, there was much more that could be done to improve agility.

"We were too slow to deliver solutions. Partly that was due to a lack of standardization and low-levels of reuse. Too often, that resulted not just in slow delivery, but the deployment of systems that were hard to use, replicate, and change."Hélder Santos, Digital and IT Director, CMS Legal

In 2018, the corporate/M&A practice challenged Hélder's team to deliver a mobile app that would help staff find relevant expertise and improve collaboration across the global organization. Until then, the practice had been using a custom-built solution, but that lacked an accompanying mobile app and was comparatively hard to use or improve.

OutSystems Provides a Platform for Innovation

Solution - Hélder knew OutSystems from previous projects as IT Director for CMS in Portugal, and based on that experience, he knew that a low-code approach could improve agility, and help overcome the problems of slow delivery, limited reuse, and hard-to-change deployments.

Following a competitive tender, CMS selected OutSystems to build the new mobile app. Flexibility was the overriding selection criterion, as Hélder explains, "OutSystems provides us with a platform that we can use for a whole variety of web and mobile development projects. Compared to hand-coding, it’s more flexible, and it makes it easier to reuse and replicate solutions, and integrate multiple data sources."

In January 2019, CMS commenced an "envision" exercise with OutSystems and set out the following objectives for the new application:

  • Enable users to find partners and lawyers using a wide range of criteria, including location, expertise, sector, and languages.
  • Share information on publications, events, rankings, newsletters, panel agreements, and transactions.
  • Ensure data availability, privacy, and security.
  • Provide access anytime, anywhere—by web or mobile application.
  • Deliver a great user experience, irrespective of device/screen format.

What also became clear was that the app would need a backend integration layer to connect to multiple information sources across the organization, including intranet, website, active directory, and others.

Noesis
Channel Partner

Jade Eli has a four tiered focus for client organisations: 1. OutSystems low-code technology 2. Blockchain implementation 3. AI for business 4. Gamification development for business process This enables us to support our clients needs;

Learn more about Jade Eli Technologies

Mobile-First Solution Connects Colleagues to the Expertise and Knowledge their Work Demands

Results - In five months, working with two developers from OutSystems partner Jade Eli, CMS developed and launched the “My CMS” mobile and web app for the 1,500 lawyers in their worldwide corporate/M&A practice. And, as Hélder explains, the app has been enthusiastically adopted.

"The feedback is positive—users appreciate the modern look and feel and how easy it is to find the information or expertise they are looking for. Also, content contributors, such as marketing, find it much easier to enter and manage the content they are responsible for, so information is more up-to-date."

CMS expects to roll out the app to other practices in the firm, and ultimately over 8,000 CMS staff around the world will use the app. CMS is also transferring several other services to OutSystems, including SharePoint, a wiki platform, and several manual processes, and expects to reduce software licensing costs as a result.

Following the success with My CMS, the team has extended the use of OutSystems for customer-facing development projects. For example, the “Data Breach Assistant” provides step-by-step guidance to clients on what to do in the event of a cyber breach. Correct behaviour by staff in these situations is essential to comply with the law. This app is designed to help clients avoid non-compliant behaviour and can, therefore, reduce the risk of severe fines.

Outlook

Following the success of the My CMS project, there’s a lot of enthusiasm for similar web and mobile development projects across the firm.

Moreover, having developed the backend integration layer using OutSystems, CMS expects to extend the approach further, as Hélder explains. “We’ve proven that OutSystems can be used to integrate our diverse IT systems, and by leveraging and extending that backend, we expect future web and mobile development projects to be even faster.”

The longer-term vision is to create an enterprise reference architecture to support the CMS digital transformation journey, and OutSystems is expected to play a central role in ensuring that this architecture provides CMS the agility they require to keep innovating at speed.

Content you can’t miss
New e-Court Platform Represents a “Tectonic Shift” in the Administration of Justice

The new platform for e-Court had to bring all the stakeholders together: plaintiffs, bailiffs, defendants, arbitrators, and lawyers. In addition, e-Court had stringent requirements for security, scalability, speed, user-friendliness, and integration capabilities.

International Law Firm Vieira de Almeida Prepares for a Digital Future with OutSystems

Leading Portuguese law firm Vieira de Almeida (VdA) wanted to improve the efficiency of key business processes and free-up its lawyers so they could focus more on adding value for their clients. With OutSystems, the firm has designed and implemented case management and workflow tools that automate and accelerate critical legal processes.

Randstad’s Innovation Leads to 30% Faster Recruitment and New Revenue Streams

HR services specialist Randstad is dedicated to helping employers find and recruit the right talent to grow their business. When it needed to provide fast, actionable insights to job candidates and recruitment consultants, it used OutSystems to quickly develop new capabilities.