LGSS hilft Kommunen, bessere Dienstleistungen zu geringeren Kosten zu erbringen – mit OutSystems

Der Shared-Services-Anbieter LGSS unterstützt britische Organisationen des öffentlichen Sektors bei der schnellen Umsetzung von Innovationen, die Dienstleistungen für Bürger verbessern und zugleich Geld sparen. Mit der Low-Code-Entwicklungsplattform von OutSystems kann LGSS kostengünstig und mit größerer Agilität neue gemeinsame Dienstleistungen entwickeln.

 

2 Entwickler

2 Entwickler

2 Monate

2 Monate

£200.000 Einsparungen

£200.000 Einsparungen

Nélio Marques
„OutSystems gibt uns die Benutzerfreundlichkeit, Vielseitigkeit und Konsistenz, die wir brauchen, um schnell innovative, kosteneffiziente gemeinsame Dienstleistungen des öffentlichen Sektors zu erstellen, die eine echte Wirkung für unsere Kommunen haben.“Cheryl Doran, Head of Digital, LGSS

Digitale Innovation mit kleinem Budget

Herausforderung – Angesichts straffer Budgets im öffentlichen Sektor bieten viele Behörden gemeinsame Dienstleistungen (Shared Services) an, um die Bedürfnisse der Bürger zu erfüllen und Kosten niedrig zu halten. LGSS gehört drei großen britischen Kommunen und bietet gemeinsam genutzte Dienstleistungen für Behörden und andere Organisationen des öffentlichen Sektors.

Während der Großteil des IT-Teams von LGSS Legacy-Plattformen instand hält, hilft das 30-köpfige digitale Team Behörden mit innovativen digitalen Lösungen bei der Transformation ineffizienter Prozesse. Um wiederverwendbare Dienstleistungen in mehreren Kommunen zu unterstützen, suchte das Team nach einer Low-Code-Entwicklungsplattform, die die Entwicklung von Funktionen und deren Wiederverwendung in verschiedenen Applikationen erleichtert.

Nachdem es mit anderen Low-Code-Plattformen experimentiert hatte, entschied sich LGSS für OutSystems, weil es die Agile- und DevOps-Ansätze des digitalen Teams unterstützt, die kollaborative Erstellung neuer Shared Services ermöglicht sowie Zuverlässigkeit und Skalierbarkeit auf Enterprise-Niveau bietet.

Ein agiler Ansatz für die Entwicklung von Shared Services

Lösung – Die erste App mit OutSystems hat LGSS innerhalb von zwei Monaten entwickelt – eine mobile App, die in den Recyclingzentren für Haushaltsabfälle in Northamptonshire eingesetzt wird. Die Recyclingzentren sind für Anwohner zur Entsorgung von Hausmüll gedacht, konnten aber auch in betrügerischer Weise für Gewerbeabfälle genutzt werden. Dies trieb die Kosten der Kommune in die Höhe und verursachte lange Warteschlangen.

Jetzt können Anwohner mit Nutzfahrzeugen online eine kostenlose Zugangserlaubnis für die Standorte beantragen. Vor Ort nutzen Beamten die neue mobile App von OutSystems mit integrierter Bilderkennungssoftware, um Nummernschilder zu scannen und zu prüfen, ob Fahrzeuge eine Genehmigung haben.

„In zwei Monaten eine Lösung erstellen zu können, ist im öffentlichen Sektor sensationell“, sagt Cheryl Doran, Head of Digital bei LGSS. „Aber OutSystems unterstützt unsere agile Methodik – wir können etwas entwickeln, Feedback sammeln und Änderungen umsetzen. Es ist einfach nicht so kompliziert!“

Eine weitere OutSystems-App, die sich derzeit in der Endphase der Entwicklung befindet, erleichtert es Menschen mit Behinderungen, eine „blaue Plakette“ für behindertengerechte Parkplätze zu beantragen. Die App ersetzt einen langwierigen und aufwendigen Prozess. Künftig sind Online-Anträge mit einer ID-Prüfsoftware eines Drittanbieters und der Druckerei der Plaketten verknüpft.

Anwohner erhalten so einen einfacheren und schnelleren One-Touch-Prozess und können den Antrag in 10 Minuten ausfüllen. Die Kommunen wiederum, die diesen Shared Service nutzen, profitieren von deutlich geringeren Verwaltungskosten. Erwartet wird eine Amortisation innerhalb von neun Monaten.

Wichtig für LGSS ist, dass OutSystems-Apps eine Vielzahl wiederverwendbarer Komponenten bieten. Dies macht die Erstellung zukünftiger Applikationen noch kostengünstiger. „Wir bieten unseren Kommunen eine digitale Plattform für die Entwicklung innovativer gemeinsamer Dienstleistungen. OutSystems spielt dabei eine große Rolle“, sagt Doran. „Die Plattform ist einfach zu benutzen, sie ist vielseitig, und sie erlaubt uns, Komponenten wiederzuverwenden. Dadurch reduziert sich der Zeit- und Kostenaufwand im Vergleich zu kompletten Neuentwicklungen.“

Die Möglichkeit, Komponenten wiederzuverwenden, unterstützt LGSS auch bei seinen Partnerschaften. „Wir sind immer daran interessiert, mit weiteren Kommunen zusammenzuarbeiten. Unser Angebot von gemeinsam nutzbaren und anpassungsfähigen Diensten macht das Ganze einfacher“, sagt Mark Ashton, Interim Managing Director bei LGSS. „Mit OutSystems können wir wiederverwendbare und anpassbare Lösungen anbieten, was kostengünstiger ist. Das bedeutet, dass wir uns von teuren Legacy-Systemen verabschieden und einen besseren ROI erzielen können ­– für uns und unsere Partner.“

Eine Plattform für eine innovative Zukunft

Ergebnisse – Die Apps, die LGSS mit OutSystems erstellt, führen bereits zu erheblichen Kosteneinsparungen. Der Northamptonshire County Council z. B. schätzt, dass sich der durch die Abfallentsorgungs-App minimierte Missbrauch auf Einsparungen von 200.000 Pfund pro Jahr beläuft.

Dank der Multi-Tenancy-Funktionalität in OutSystems werden die Kommunen, die sich für die App für blaue Plaketten angemeldet haben, große Einsparungen erzielen. Die Entwicklungskosten belaufen sich auf etwa ein Drittel der Kosten, die anfallen würden, wenn Kommunen die App selbst entwickelt hätten.

„Einer unserer Existenzgründe ist, öffentlichen Einrichtungen dabei zu helfen, mehr für Bürger zu tun und weniger auszugeben“, sagt Doran. „Die Multi-Tenancy-Funktionen von OutSystems machen es deutlich einfacher, dies zu erreichen.“

Zudem kann das digitale Team schnell Personen mit verschiedenen technischen und nicht-technischen Hintergründen an Bord nehmen und schulen. „OutSystems ist großartig, um den Menschen den Gesamtprozess zu zeigen“, erklärt Doran. „Unsere Entwickler können jetzt über die gesamte Customer Journey nachdenken, statt nur über die spezifische Funktionalität, an der sie gerade arbeiten.“

Im ersten Jahr des Einsatzes von OutSystems hat LGSS acht Apps in Produktion gebracht. Vier weitere Apps befinden sich in Entwicklung. Dabei ist die Plattform ein entscheidender Bestandteil der zukünftigen Strategie des digitalen Teams. „Wir bekommen die Kontrolle, die wir brauchen, und beschleunigen noch dazu die Entwicklung, da wir nicht alles neu erstellen müssen“, sagt Dan Blundell, Digital Technology Manager bei LGSS. „Wir haben Zeit für nützliche Dinge wie Integration und Geschäftslogik – und begegnen keinen der Einschränkungen, die Lieferantenplattformen normalerweise begleiten.“

„Außerdem ist OutSystems ideal für DevOps“, fährt Blundell fort. „Die Plattform funktioniert ähnlich wie ein Software-Team, doch die ganze Komplexität ist abstrahiert und automatisiert. Die Leistungsüberwachung ist integriert. Es ist, als würden wir unsere eigenen Server betreiben, ohne sie mühsam verwalten zu müssen. Wir erhalten alle Einblicke mit sehr wenig Aufwand.“

Aufgrund ihrer Vielseitigkeit betrachtet das digitale Team die OutSystems-Plattform jetzt als seine Hauptentwicklungsplattform. „Wir ermuntern unsere Mitarbeiter, OutSystems überall zu nutzen, wo es möglich ist“, sagt Doran. „Andere Anbieter können meist nur eine Sache, aber mit OutSystems können wir so gut wie alles umsetzen – und den Rest integrieren wir einfach.“

Content you can’t miss
UK County Council Meets Digital by Default Standard with 100 Percent Digital Public Services

A UK County Council launched a Digital by Default initiative with a low-code platform, making 100% of services accessible online, saving £2.8 million in 3 years.

The City of Shawnee Brightens the Future of Legacy Apps

The City of Shawnee has only one application developer on staff. But with OutSystems, that’s all it takes to mobilize legacy apps, rethink workflow to save time and money, and provide valuable work experience opportunities for local college students.

Oakland Delivers Transformative Digital Services for Residents to Save $1 Million

The City of Oakland wanted to modernize the services it offers its residents. With OutSystems, they delivered eight apps in just 12 months, while saving an estimated $1 million.

LGSS Helps Councils Deliver Better Services at a Lower Cost With OutSystems

Shared services provider LGSS helps U.K. public sector organizations innovate at speed so they can improve citizen services while saving money. Using the OutSystems low-code development platform, LGSS can build new shared services in an even more agile and cost-effective way.

 

2 developers

2 developers

2 months

2 months

£200,000 savings

£200,000 savings

Cheryl Doran
"OutSystems gives us the ease of use, versatility, and consistency we need to quickly create innovative, cost-effective, public sector shared services that have a real impact on the communities we serve."Cheryl Doran, Head of Digital, LGSS

Digital Innovation on a Budget

Challenge - As budget constraints tighten across the public sector, many agencies are combining forces with shared services to help them meet citizens’ needs while keeping costs down. LGSS is owned and operated by three major U.K. councils and provides shared services for local government and other public sector organizations.

While the bulk of the LGSS IT team maintains legacy platforms, the 30-strong digital team helps public sector agencies transform inefficient processes with innovative digital solutions. To support reusable services across multiple councils, the team was looking for a low-code development platform that would make it easier to develop functionality and reuse it in multiple applications.

Having experimented with other low-code platforms, LGSS chose OutSystems because it supports the digital team’s Agile and DevOps approaches, enables new shared services to be built in a collaborative way, and offers enterprise-grade reliability and scalability.

An Agile Approach to Building Shared Services

Solution - LGSS developed their first app with OutSystems in two months: a mobile app used at household waste recycling centers across Northamptonshire. The recycling centers are intended for residents to dispose of domestic waste but were potentially being used fraudulently for trade waste, ramping up the council’s costs and causing long queues.

Now, residents who use commercial-type vehicles can apply online for a free permit to access the sites. Once on site, officers can use the new OutSystems mobile app, which is integrated with image recognition software, to scan a vehicle’s number plate and check if they have a permit.

“Being able to create something in two months is unheard of in the public sector,” says Cheryl Doran, Head of Digital at LGSS. “But OutSystems supports our Agile methodology—we can create something, gather feedback, and change it. It’s just not that hard!”

Another OutSystems app, currently in the final stages of development, makes it faster and easier for disabled people to apply for a “blue badge” which allows them to park in disability-friendly spaces. The app replaces a lengthy, high-effort process by integrating online applications with third-party ID checking software and the badge printing supplier.

Residents will get a simpler, faster, one-touch process and will be able to complete the application in 10 minutes, while the councils using the shared service will benefit from significantly reduced admin overheads, projecting a return on their initial investment within nine months.

Important for LGSS, the OutSystems apps offer plenty of reusable components, making future apps even more cost-effective to create. “We offer our councils a digital platform for developing innovative shared services, and we see OutSystems as a big part of that,” says Cheryl. “It’s easy to use, it’s versatile, and it allows us to reuse components, which cuts down on the time and cost of building everything from scratch.”

The ability to reuse components also supports LGSS in its working partnerships. “We’re always keen to collaborate with other councils, and offering sharable and adaptable services makes that easier to do,” says Mark Ashton, Interim Managing Director of LGSS. “Working with OutSystems means we can offer something recyclable and malleable, which is more cost-effective, meaning we can ditch expensive legacy systems and get a better return on investment—for us and our partners.”

A Platform for an Innovative Future

Results - The apps LGSS is creating with OutSystems are already producing some significant cost savings. Northamptonshire County Council, for example, estimates it will save £200,000 a year by minimizing fraud with its waste disposal permit app.

Multi-tenancy in OutSystems means that the councils that signed up for the blue badge app will see some big savings, with development costs at around one-third of what they would be if the councils had tried to develop the app on their own.

“One of the reasons we exist is to help cash-strapped public sector agencies do more for citizens while spending less,” Cheryl says. “OutSystems multi-tenancy capabilities make it much easier to do that.”

Now, the digital team can also quickly onboard and train people from a variety of technical and non-technical backgrounds. “OutSystems is great for letting people see the overall process,” Cheryl explains. “Our developers can think about the end-to-end user journey, not just the specific bit of functionality they’re working on.”

In its first year of using OutSystems, LGSS has put eight apps into production and has another four in development, and the platform is a critical piece of the digital team's future strategy. “We get all the control we need—yet we get all the acceleration of not having to rebuild things,” says Dan Blundell, Digital Technology Manager at LGSS. “We can spend our time on the valuable stuff like integration and business logic without the restrictions that supplier platforms typically impose.”

“And OutSystems is ideal for DevOps,” Dan continues. “The platform works the same way a software team works, but all the complexity is abstracted and automated. Plus, performance monitoring is all built in as if we're running our own servers without having to do the laborious bit of actually managing them. We get all the insight with very little effort.”

The versatility of OutSystems means the digital team now sees it as their main development platform. “We’re trying to encourage people to use OutSystems wherever possible,” says Cheryl. “Other suppliers can usually only do one thing, but on OutSystems we can do pretty much anything—and we can easily integrate it with anything we can’t do.”

Content you can’t miss
UK County Council Meets Digital by Default Standard with 100 Percent Digital Public Services

A UK County Council launched a Digital by Default initiative with a low-code platform, making 100% of services accessible online, saving £2.8 million in 3 years.

The City of Shawnee Brightens the Future of Legacy Apps

The City of Shawnee has only one application developer on staff. But with OutSystems, that’s all it takes to mobilize legacy apps, rethink workflow to save time and money, and provide valuable work experience opportunities for local college students.

Oakland Delivers Transformative Digital Services for Residents, Saves $1 Million Using OutSystems

The City of Oakland set out to make an impact on residents’ lives by modernizing its digital services and increasing digital inclusion, especially to underserved populations. With OutSystems, the development team delivered an impressive eight apps in just 12 months, including the single sign-on OAKAPPS portal at the centerpiece of the transformation. Not only were they able to develop each app in weeks versus years, but the development team saved the city an estimated $1 million—all while improving city services to residents.